New Member~ and Question

CrozB

Silver Supporter
Jun 1, 2015
Annapolis, MD
Hello,

I'm a new member and owner of a T-100 test kit! Our pool is 3 years old and I'm ready to take over complete care. I'm leery and confused at the water test readings from pool store and decided it's my responsibility. This is my first post...wanted to introduce myself and my pool readings.

PH- 7.5
FC- 3
CC- 1
TC- 4
TA- 100
CH- 225
CYA-10

We have had alot of rain in the past 3 days, so this explains my CYA reading. I currently have a sock of 2 lbs. stabilizer in the skimmer.
I have 2 questions:
  1. I'm concerned about my CC reading. is there something I should do about this? Pool store scared me with the term" chlorine lock". I'm still learning about CC's.
  2. My levels aren't within the ranges suggested, but they are close. Do I wait until next weeks test to verify readings or adjust now?

Thanks for your time and knowledge!

Hi there Cruz! welcome to TFP. I lived in Annapolis for the past 5 years before relocating back to Florida.

well the really really good news is that you don't have astronomical high CYA levels. we see that a lot, and its a pain to deal with (partial drain and refill). so good news there.

now onto your test results.

the TF-100 cannot measure below 30ppm,. so you cant confirm a reading of 10. it is low, so go to pool math, assume CYA of 10 and figure out how much to add to get to 30ppm. then retest in a week and see where you are at, but don't want to overshoot it. eventually CYA will need to go higher for a saltwater pool, but don't want to raise it all the way until we confirm you don't need to SLAM. if you do need to SLAM, a CYA of around 30 is perfect. you added 2 lbs of stabilizer, but per pool math, that only increases your CYA by 9ppm. you need to double that.

your other numbers look great.