Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello.. confused over how to read the chlorine/CYA chart..

1. Back To Top    #1

Wallingford, CT

Hello.. confused over how to read the chlorine/CYA chart..

Hello there! I'm very new at this, and have a kind of a 'stupid' question.
    On this chlorine/CYA chart I see ...
    DO I read it like this -
    If I can get my CYA to the target of 30, therefore my target FC will be 4. and to get to the target FC of 4 I need to add enough shock to get the FC level to 12 for a while?

This doesn't exactly made any sense to me.
    Can anyone tell me how to read this thing, I'm feeling dumber by the moment.
    I actually used to like math.

two days ago my CYA was at 0
    and my chlorine level was at 0
    we added 'stabilized chlorine' that we had, until I could get a handle on how to read and understand this stuff.
    Boyfriend says the chlorine was at 4 yesterday when he tested.
    Thank you very much
    I believe 18,500g, AG
    round :)

2. Back To Top    #2
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)

Re: Hello.. confused over how to read the chlorine/CYA chart..

With CYA at 30, normal minimum FC is 4. You should try to never let it drop below that. But you will lose some chlorine to sunlight every day, so you target 6 so that it doesn't drop below 4 before you test and add again. If you get careless and do develop algae, you will need to raise the FC level to shock level to kill it off faster than it can reproduce. Shock level for 30 CYA is 12 FC. Unless you get algae, you may never ever need to go that high.

Whatever your CYA level is as it's rising, when you add more chlorine, aim for the target
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.