Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pump acts like its not getting power

1. Back To Top    #1

Pump acts like its not getting power

Complete novices at all things pool, it came with the house...

Finally figured out all the hoses and connections and so on, only to have the pump act like it is not getting power. No noise at all.

Pump is a Hayward Power Flo Matrix 1.5 HP with a twist lock plug. Switch on the pump is on.

The outlet it connects to doesn't have any sort of GFCI reset buttons on it. Switch on the receptacle is on.

Timer is making its normal noise and is set to manual, but even if it were on the timer, it should be running the pump right now.

The single unlabeled set of switches in the electrical box we flipped on and off, (former owners were pretty meticulous about labels)... the timer continued to make noise regardless of its position but it may be wired on its own.

Only thing we haven't done at the time of posting this is drag a old pump in the basement (no idea if it works) out to the pool to plug in. I wanted to see if there were any other suggestions that we aren't aware of (eg, can twist lock plugs be finicky if not twisted just right, or is that design only to ensure it doesn't accidentally unplug)?
    We inherited an AG Lomart Grey Mist 18' x33' (15,700gal according to the estimator), installed 2006, using Sustain chemicals for now. Learned very quickly how wrong the test strips and pool stores can be, so I use a Taylor FAS DPD kit.
    Hayward PowerFlo Matrix 1.5HP pump, Hayward Pro Series S180T sand filter.
    100% beginner at pool ownership... explain it to me as you would to a five year old :D

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pump acts like its not getting power

Welcome to TFP!!!

I would use a multimeter to verify if there is power at the twist lock outlet or not.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter