Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: To SLAM or not to SLAM

1. Back To Top    #1

To SLAM or not to SLAM

Hello,
    I'm new to TFP and my first thought is to SLAM my pool to get started.

On the other hand, my TF-100 numbers don't seem too bad (other than low chlorine and high TA):
    FC=0.5
    CC=0
    TC=0.5
    CH=275
    TA=160
    CYA=60

No algae, water is a bit blue.

Should I SLAM or just get the FC level up to 3ppm?

Thanks
    30K gal, 20x40 ft, IG Vinyl, 1.5 HP pump, 120 sqft cartridge, TF-100 Test Kit, 16 mil solar blanket

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: To SLAM or not to SLAM

Welcome! The following link had a good post on blue water. Give it a read and see if it still applies to you.

Why is my water blue?

- - - Updated - - -

PS - Don't let that CYA creep-up on you any higher. You're not using any tablets right?

- - - Updated - - -

Yes- Definitely get that FC up to the minimum 3!

- - - Updated - - -

By the way, what was your PH? I didn't see that above. And TA will need to come down a bit too. See the Recommend Levels chart below in my link.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

I just stopped using tablets. Switched to bleach.
    I did just add Kleen Pool algaecide about a month ago. That could be the reason for the water looking blue; a bit of copper.
    Would you recommend that I empty 1/2 the pool to get rid of the copper?

pH 7.5
    30K gal, 20x40 ft, IG Vinyl, 1.5 HP pump, 120 sqft cartridge, TF-100 Test Kit, 16 mil solar blanket

4. Back To Top    #4

I'll have to let our mineral experts reply to that question about copper. Glad you pulled the pucks though!

- - - Updated - - -