Whitish "stain" in shallow end of pool

May 26, 2015
Sunnyvale, CA
Hello,

I posted some time ago about how my PB messed up the acid wash process and scratched all our glass trim tiles, which had to be replaced. Well during the acid wash it seems they messed up something else. As I was watching the two guys working I noticed a water was left pooling in the shallow end, as the deep end was filling. I thought nothing of it. We had to drain the pool to redo the trim tiles, and that's when I saw a huge whitish stain where that water had been. I brought it up to my PB, who said "you won't see it when the pool is full". Well of course, now that the pool is full of water again, I see it (looks like a big "8"). More so when it's getting darker toward the end of the day. Is this something I'm supposed to live with, or completely unacceptable? My PB said it wasn't unusual for this to happen (leave water pool up) when acid washing. I don't know if I can believe him, how could I? I'm not an expert. BUT, this stain definitely bugs me. Even more so knowing they damaged our trim tiles. That's a lot of mistakes for one job.

Attached are some pics.
Thanks for your feedback,

NJ

attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php

Attachments

• Acid wash crew - water pooling.jpg
    Acid wash crew - water pooling.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 104
  • Pool plaster ring - evening light.jpg
    Pool plaster ring - evening light.jpg
    23.6 KB · Views: 105
  • pool plaster ring - daylight.jpg
    pool plaster ring - daylight.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 101
  • Stain in Pool - low resolution.jpg
    Stain in Pool - low resolution.jpg
    5.7 KB · Views: 103
If water can pool there, the dirt will also settle there .... seems like the surface was not sloped as expected.

I certainly do not like the way that looks, but this is an issue between you and the builder.