Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pentair MasterTemp 250 Heater Natural Gas 460732

1. Back To Top    #1

Pentair MasterTemp 250 Heater Natural Gas 460732

Hello,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have a MasterTemp 250 NGas heater that's been giving me some headaches lately. Last year prior to closing it was 'bumping' and rattling. This spring I've replaced the thermal regulator and the manifold bypass valve (thanks to posts on this site). I believe the 'bumping' is gone, however, there still appears to be some rattling. I had the heater on today, but at some point it quit heating but it kept running. I noticed the 'heating' light was flashing. I also noticed the 'AFS' light briefly came on once but did not stay on, nor did I see it a second time.

To me the rattling seems to be coming from the 'combination gas control valve'. There appears to be a switch on the side closest the opening with 2 wires going to it, maybe a breaker of some type, this seems to float back and forth. The part is attached along with red arrow pointing to switch I am speaking about.

Any insight?

Thanks,
    Bruce
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Pentair MasterTemp 250 Heater Natural Gas 460732

That's just a connection point the gas valve maker uses. It's that load you can hear it with the case on?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

3. Back To Top    #3

Yes, you can hear it with all panels on and from a 15ft distance. I suppose it could be something else causing the rattling/clicking. However, it is not as loud by the front access panel as it is at the back panel with both panels removed.

Bruce