water softeners and saltwater pools

On4812

Jun 1, 2015
Midland TX
I'm a new owner of a saltwater pool in west texas. my pool builder (whom I trust and is very experienced) is telling me to put a softener system on my pool to trickle water in when level drops. I'm using city water (midland, tx) instead of well water due to extremely high salt content in well. I have zero experience with pools so I'm researching everything we do. The pool is an inground plaster pool (plaster is quartzscape). I tested my calcium hardness and I got 350-400ppm (my pool builder got 710 on his kit and 420 on mine-we're going to get a third party test to confirm). He's concerned about scale formation. He says it'll gum up my SWG and produce ugly scale around the pool. He figures the softener will only lower the calcium load to a reasonable level and not to a low level. My research has showed that soft water can become aggressive with the plaster, the deck, tile, and grout (pool builder says the "new" plasters being used now a days won't leach calcium out like "old" plasters). The local chemical store tells me its a bad idea because it (the softener) will require adding NaCl which would throw the SWG's reading off and leach calcium from the pool structures. Basically my question is-are softeners a bad idea in general given my circumstance? Even though my pool guy has 40+ yrs experience, he has never used softeners before and I feel like i'll be the guinea pig. Please help!!

Welcome to TFP.

The best thing you can do to begin with is get a good test kit, if you don't already have one, so you can test the CH of the fill water there. If the CH is as high as you think, it's probably not a bad idea to put a softener on the fill water. It won't use a whole lot of water, but it would help keep the CH to a manageable level. A softener at fill level quantities probably won't add enough salt to account for splashout much less raise it enough to be a real problem.