Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Taking Over Pool Duties!

1. Back To Top    #1

Taking Over Pool Duties!

Started with 26 pounds of salt, 2 Arm & Hammer Clear Balance tablets aka:baking soda
    (Arm Hammer Clear Balance Pool Maintenance Tablets - Walmart.com)
    Initial Reading; SALT 2430, FC 8.5, CC 0.5, PH 6.8, TA 30, CYA 230, CH 50

A little about me. I live in the humid state of Louisiana, and the temperature is slowly rising outside. I'm new to do the pool duties,taking over for my husband. So be kind to me. I know the salt is somewhat low and the TA is really low. I'll need to adjust that along with the PH. Husband texted me that he added another tablet of Baking Soda this morning.
    Time to go figure out your pool calculator. Any help will be appreciated.
    FYI: For the last 3 years of owning our pool we've never used Borate.

Toby
    18"x 48" Intex AG Vinyl Pool, 5455 Gal, Krystal Clear 635T Filter Pump, Krystal Clears SWG CS8110, TF100

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Taking Over Pool Duties!

Welcome aboard!

Depending on what test you used to get your numbers, it is time for a water change over.

Your CYA is 3X higher than it should be. So I would drain approx. 65% of the water to start before dropping in your salt if your CYA is really at 230.
    18' x 36' vinyl steel wall pool with deep end, 2 lights and 6' steps, main drain, SWG, Cartridge Filter, 320,000 BTU Rheem heater, 3/4HP 1 stage pump - Ontario, Canada

3. Back To Top    #3

What test kit are you using?

If your CYA is that high your primary concern and first objective is draining the pool and refilling it with clean water. Don't worry about anything else until your CYA is in control.