Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to TFP and need advice

1. Back To Top    #1

New to TFP and need advice

Hi, I am new to the TFP method. My TFT100 test kit arrived today. My results are as follows:
    FC 11.5
    CC 0.5
    TC 12
    pH 7.5
    Calcium 300ppm
    TA 190
    CYA 50
    water temp is 82

I had previously used test strips and relied on the SWG to keep chlorine within normal range. I've always had clear water, but had 6 inches of rain overnight and the next afternoon I had cloudy water. I recognize my CYA is low at 50, but I really don't want to correct anything until I get some advice on what to do first. My free chlorine levels are on the way down as I have turned my SWG output down.
    Any and all advice welcome. Thanks in advance.
    I've not used borates, but I am interested in using them once I get the pool sparkly clear again if anyone has any words of wisdom on borates.
    Auburn, AL
    30,000 gallon inground pool with vinyl liner
    sand filter
    intellichlor SWG
    TF100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: New to TFP and need advice

Congrats on your TF 100 and welcome to TFP!

You say the pool is cloudy.

See the post from Aimee below.

Chlorine CYA Chart

SLAMing Your Pool

PoolMath

Recommended Levels
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Point of argument, With FC of 11.5 and CC of 0.5 is a SLAM required? I would think a few days of filtering should clear it up just fine. Just mu humble opinion. And I'm really new so I could be all wet!!