Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pool Drainage

1. Back To Top    #1

Pool Drainage

Since I'm new at this pool ownership thing, I have a pretty simple question. I looked up how to drain my pool water, should the need arise, but it seems I do not have a setup for draining. Correct me if I'm wrong? Am I correct to assume the only way for me to drain would be a sump pump?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    12k in ground, 14x28 sports pool, concrete/plaster/diamond brite, uncovered
    Waterway 1.5hp pump, waterway 150sqft cartridge filter, auto chlorinator, on city water, Zodiac MX8

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pool Drainage

That is correct.

You could add a 3-way valve after the filter (since there is no room before it) to use to switch to a "waste" option. Of course you would want to remove the cartridge anytime you were going to do it.

EDIT: Or replumb between the pump and filter and either use a 3-way instead of the 90 fitting or use a Tee fitting with a shut-off valve on the right that you could open. The 3-way would allow you to drain more quickly.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks Jason. I'm worried about changing any of the plumbing, since the pool was just built, I've only had it open since April, and I don't want to void all/any warranties I have.
    Waterway 1.5hp pump, waterway 150sqft cartridge filter, auto chlorinator, on city water, Zodiac MX8

4. Back To Top    #4

Then ask them to add a waste option ... there is no way adding a valve should void anything.
    Jason, TFP Moderator