Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    I have a brand new pool that was just given to us last week. Included was a PDA-PS8 Combo remote control to turn on / off our equipment and set the programs. The problem is that it doesn't work from ****. It only recognizes some of the buttons I press (ie: if I press "down" to go down the menu, it only recognizes I pressed a button maybe half the time. At that, half of the commands it does take don't actually refresh the screen so it's really hit or miss as to whether or not it's doing anything).

    I called Zodiac to ask about this... my pool builder seems to think its working correctly but I paid something like $1500 to be able to control the system from this remote. Its embarrassing to sit outside with friends and try to turn the pool, waterfall and 3 lights on because I can't get it to complete in less than 10 or 15 mins.

    They told me I can upgrade the unit on the side of the house with a R0466801 chip and the IQ20-A antenna which will allow me to use my iPhone instead of the remote (the remote can still perform all On/Off functions but nothing else). Looks like that would cost me about $600 in parts, void the warranty if I install them myself but would actually work. Anyone done this and know that this info is correct?

    What to do?
    New Pool: 22 x 35 | StoneScape Mini - Midnight Blue | ~17,500 gallons | Jandy Equipment - Built spring 2015 (click for details and pictures)
    Old Pool: 16 x 30 | QuartzBrite | 14,000 gallons | Pentair Equipment - Built summer of 2013 (click for details and pictures)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    Well, my solution is not likely what you are looking for ... I simply stand up and walk over the equipment and push the buttons or turn the valves that change what I want

    I just do not see the need to control my pool with my phone ... just like I do not see the need for my hot water heater to have Bluetooth ... and I am not as old as you might think based on those statements

    It certainly does not sound like you system is working like it is supposed to and would suggest you keep talking to your builder and Zodiac.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    borjis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    2,055

    Re: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    sounds like maybe the remote is defective.
    16x32 IG Vinyl, 13,000 Gals. Hayward S-244T sand filter, SP2810X15 pump
    (1.5 HP motor) Raypak PR266AEN (266k btu) gas heater. TF-100 Test Kit.
    Dolphin E10 Cleaning Robot.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    Well, surprisingly it might be as easy to fix the PDA as just changing the channel, which they are coming out today to do.
    And more surprisingly, they have a huge discount on the parts to do the upgrade. If I want, they will even perform the equipment swap for free. So I stressed for nothing, maybe.
    New Pool: 22 x 35 | StoneScape Mini - Midnight Blue | ~17,500 gallons | Jandy Equipment - Built spring 2015 (click for details and pictures)
    Old Pool: 16 x 30 | QuartzBrite | 14,000 gallons | Pentair Equipment - Built summer of 2013 (click for details and pictures)

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    Good deal ... hope things get fixed and functioning to your liking.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    TW Pool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    The Woodlands, Texas
    Posts
    79

    Re: New Pool Needs Upgraded Automation Already?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Well, my solution is not likely what you are looking for ... I simply stand up and walk over the equipment and push the buttons or turn the valves that change what I want

    I just do not see the need to control my pool with my phone ... just like I do not see the need for my hot water heater to have Bluetooth ... and I am not as old as you might think based on those statements

    It certainly does not sound like you system is working like it is supposed to and would suggest you keep talking to your builder and Zodiac.
    lol jblizzle! And, true story. I will have my equipment hooked up to my phone. I am not quite to that stage yet, but can fill you in when I get there. There isn't much to that installation. Or, I'd try and make your PB do it. I'd give him **** for not offering the phone option instead of the remote (just another thing to break or lose!) He might not come, but you might not have to refer anyone to him either. Unless you live way out of the way, he should come and help you out.

    BTW, I'm not sure why that would void the warranty? The mfg warranty of PB warranty?
    New DIY IG pool in Houston, Texas. 4/30 dig to 6/11 fill. 20' x 42.5' free form pool/raised spa with the following equipment: 3hp Intelliflow pump shared between pool/spa, 120gpm Pentair Waterfall pump, 6' sheer decent, 2 bubblers, 2 large color LEDs in the pool/1 small in the spa, Easytouch 8 with ScreenLogic2, Stenner Pump, auto fill, a 2HP silencer pump for the spa, 850 sq. ft Sundeck, Dolphin Supreme M500 and a TF100+mixer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •