Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Trying to clean up green pool full of leaves - vacuuming to waste question

1. Back To Top    #1

Trying to clean up green pool full of leaves - vacuuming to waste question

Hi,
    I have been following many threads on how to get a green swamp back to normal, and I need some help with one piece of this puzzle. I want to vacuum to waste because I can't seem to get the leaves out of the bottom of the deep end using a leaf net. I have a sand filer, and I do have a waste option on my multliport controls.
    So my question is how do I arrange the valves on my plumbing to vacuum to waste? To filter I have the one on the left open and the one on the right closed. To backwash I reverse this process. I am new to owning a pool and am a little hazy on the plumbing aspect and do not have anyone to help explain it to me in person.

Also, when I rinse I am leaving the valves in the same position as when I backwash. Is this correct? I would think it is so I don't send dirt back into the pool. All of the labels on the filter have disintegrated so I can't tell when it is. I can take a picture of the plumbing if that would help.

Thank you for any assistance. The folks here are so knowledgable and helpful, I love this forum ��
    25,000 IG vinyl. Sand filter. Came with the house, not sure when it was built. K2006 test kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Trying to clean up green pool full of leaves - vacuuming to waste question

Welcome to TFP!!

Please post pics of your pump and filter plumbing. Can't really help without them.
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

3. Back To Top    #3

hi,