Cloudy Pool

Hi guys,

I recently bought a house that has a old 10,000 gal marcite kidney pool. The pool had brown stains on the sides and bottom and need some cleaning up. I followed my local pool stores advice and they had me add a bottle and a half of muriatic acid into the pool to remove the staining. It worked but know my pool has been coudy ever since I started adding chemicals to bring it back in balance. Every time I go in to the store, they have me buy soda ash, pool tonic, metal remover, cya booster, you name it and my pool is still the same! The walls and floor are slightly slimy and when I clean the filter cartridge white cloudy mix comes out of the filter. I can barely see the bottom of the pool on the shallow end but its too cloudy to see the deep end.After reading the forum I ordered and finally received my Taylor 2006 test kit.

This is my first time doing this but I had a few issues with the testing. When I tested for chlorine, I wasnt able to get the water to change pink with the R-0870 dipper. All I could get it to do was turn murky. I assumed I had no chlorine. My CYA test didn't seem to go as well. I was able to cover the black dot well below the 100 line.

I'm extremely new to this so any help is really appreciated.

Thanks,

Larry

Here are the numbers I have so far.

FC: 0
CC:.0?
TC: 0?
CH: 550 PPM
TA: 230
PH: 7.6
CYA: more then 100 PPM

Welcome to TFP!!:handwave:

100 is the limit of the CYA test, so at this level we are unsure if it is 100 or some number above 100. Don't equate “just a little over 100” to a number, the tube is not marked for such extrapolation. At this point I would recommend at least a 33% water exchange to get the CYA down into a measurable level. South Florida has a high water table, so lowering the water too much can “float” the pool out of the ground. The water exchange will bring down that high CH you have also.