Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hayward SWG No longer working?

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Hayward SWG No longer working?

I am a newbie so excuse me if I don't have all the right info. Making the attempt to step away from pool store advice. The pool store guy told me that there is a way to determine when my salt cell was made by looking at the serial number? Is this true? We bought this home in December and the previous owners didnt leave us any info about the pool. Over the last few months we've come to the conclusion that they didn't maintain things very well. Supposedly my SWG is no longer generating cholrine?? Trying to figure out if its an old cell or what!

I will post the two pictures here for assistance.

21,205 gallon
    Exposed Aggregate In-ground Pool.
    Hayward SWG, T-9 Cell
    Pool Built in 2010, purchased property December 2014.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hayward SWG No longer working?

The cell was made in 2013. It has a three year warranty. Can you post the diagnostic readings and the salt level as tested by a drop test or meter?

3. Back To Top    #3

I just joined the forum this weekend and haven't had a chance to order my own test kit yet. I only have my test results from Friday, but I had to shock the pool since then because of a number of problems.
    21,205 gallon
    Hayward SWG, T-9 Cell

4. Back To Top    #4

If you press the diagnostic button in the control box, you can see the diagnostic readings. If you post those, we can tell you if everything is working properly.

5. Back To Top    #5

Is one of the lights on the controller on or off that makes you thing it has stopped working?

also, that T9 is a bit undersized for a 21K gallon pool. It will have to work extra hard to supply enough chlorine.
    If you have to replace the cell, it will worth it in the longrun to upgrade to a T15 cell.
    Divin Dave,