Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too big??

1. Back To Top    #1

Too big??

Hi..I'm new to the thread and need some advice. We are looking at doing a 18x46x 20x40 L shape pool. We have 5 kids and want a deep and separate shallow end for volleyball and game area. We are doing underliner steps that will take up 4 feet in the shallow area, so that leaves 36 feet off playing area? I'm getting nervous because everyone keeps telling us that is a huge pool. Now I'm thinking we should make it smaller. Any suggestions???

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Too big??

I am not sure I have ever read a post complaining that their pool was too big.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

The only issue with having large pool is the $$. At first it is more expensive to build. Then after that more chemicals, and higher electric bill. We built a large pool for my area and EVERY sub that came out mentioned the size of it. Ignore what everyone says they don't know what you want or need.

An average large pool in my area is 18x36 around 16k gallons

My pool is a freeform "lap pool" 50x17 (17 feet being the average the widest point is 22 and narrowest 10)
    28k gal/raised spa, IG quartzscape, WhistperFlo 2 speed B2984T,DEV60 filter,Lxi400 NG heater, Polaris 280 cleaner, DIY Chlorine injection, Build completion 7/2013

4. Back To Top    #4