Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pool Owner - Need advice

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool Owner - Need advice

Hi All,

I'm new to all of this and I need some help.

Our plaster was complete 5/23/2015 and we started filling it with our hose right away. 3 days later, on 5/26/2015, the pool builder dropped 3 gallons of acid in it - I guess this is the acid wash? the finish was a bit blotchy but it is really starting to even out now and it is looking good.

Water Test Results from yesterday:
    FC: 0.0
    pH: 7.0
    TA: 30 ppm
    CH: 501 ppm
    Total Dissolved Solids: 600 ppm
    Stabilizer: 0 ppm

Based on the recommendation of the pool company we dropped in 2.5lbs of Alkalinity Increaser, 2.5 gallons of Chlorine, and 3 chlorine tabs. We are supposed to drop another 2.5lbs of Alkalinity Increaser today and have the water retested next week. Does this sound right?

The guy at the pool store where we had the water tested said it would be 30 days before we could swim - does that sound right? Our pool builder made it sound more like it would take 5 days or so to balance the chemicals before we could swim...so I'm confused. I'm not sure that we told the pool store that our finish was not the standard pool plaster, it is NPT StoneScapes Pebble Interior Finish - does that matter?

I had a coworker who recently built an IG plaster pool and the company acid washed his pool with no water in it and they were swimming a few days after that. Does anyone know why a builder would choose to acid wash the pool with water in it? Just wondering why we didn't do the dry acid wash which seems like would have allowed us to start swimming earlier?

Any advice on what we should know or do at this point would be helpful. Thank you!
    My Pool: 19,000 gallon In-Ground Screen Enclosed, Finish: NPT StoneScapes Mini Pebble Tropics Blue, Controller/Heater: Hayward ProLogic P4 w/T-15 SWG