Hi I got the test kit as recommended and here r the results:

ph 7.2
    calcium hardness 110
    total alkalinity 100
    cyanuric acid 35
    free chlorine .2
    total chlorine .6
    saturation between .1 and .2

please advise how to go from here as I'm new to this.....thanks!
    Above ground 15,000 gallon vinyl w/ sand filter .....more info to come

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Just got recommended test kit and need guidance please

Congrats on your kit!

You need to raise your FC. You can look at the chlorine cya chart in pool school for what FC you should have with a CYA of 35 and then raise it to the target level with bleach. You can use pool math to calculate how much it you should add.

What does your pool look like?
    If it is cloudy or a green swamp you will want to read up on the SLAM process and raise FC to the SLAM shock level for CYA 35
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

3. Back To Top    #3

Actually it is pretty clear right now I will try to do the math thing now thanks

- - - Updated - - -

Where do I want to be at for all the figures?

4. Back To Top    #4

In my signature below, see the link for Recommended Levels. That will get you in the right direction. Let us know if you have any other questions.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

5. Back To Top    #5