Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mid-Mi
    Posts
    21

    Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    I am considering adding a dedicated vacuum port to our Intex when I plumb the new Hayward pump. I tried searching but haven't come up with much help.

    My thought is to have a T at the inlet (stock inlet to pump- haven't mounted a through wall skimmer) to the pump and have the vacuum port come up over the wall. I will have a ball valve inline to shut it off.

    Main question is do I have the vacuum inlet horizontal at the wall edge, or do I take it into the pool with another 90* and have the end just below the water line 1-2"? Not sure if we will ever add a auto vac or not if that matters.

    If I go into the pool, I could use it for the pump to draw from along with the stock pump inlet, using the ball valve to fine tune the amount if needed so the Intex skimmer supplies most of the water.

    Wasn't sure exactly where to post this, Pump Station, Cleaning, or here.

    TY!
    Intex Ultra Frame 20' x 52"
    Hayward Pro 1hp Power-Flo LX/ 18" Sand Filter
    12-4'x8'x1" Polystyrene Sheets

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cypress, Tx.
    Posts
    154

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    I have been thinking of doing the same thing for my vacuum. Here is my idea.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intex 18ft dia. Ultraframe, 6500 gal. above ground Intex pool with Hayward C550 cartridge type filter and Intex Krystal Clear Ozone and saltwater system model ZS8110, Taylor K-2006 test Kit, Pool filter supplemented with Duda Diesel 1 micron filter bag
    Located in Cypress, Tx.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    IMG_0256[1].jpg

    I did it two years ago, sure makes vacuuming pool easier. Works great

    - - - Updated - - -

    IMG_0255[1].jpg
    Intex 16X48, Intex sand filter, Game 3/4 HP pump. Springfield Mo

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mid-Mi
    Posts
    21

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    TY guys!

    Blaib, do you unscrew the cap or is it just pressed on to keep dirt out?

    Need to work on an area next to the pool before I plumb the new filter, if the water thaws from this cold front that moved into Mi yesterday afternoon!

    Will update on what I end up doing. May try taking it up over the edge into the pool for less air into the system. Time will tell!

    TY again!
    Intex Ultra Frame 20' x 52"
    Hayward Pro 1hp Power-Flo LX/ 18" Sand Filter
    12-4'x8'x1" Polystyrene Sheets

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cypress, Tx.
    Posts
    154

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Here is my filter bag port with stub end installed. The piping is a little crazy because the ultraframe pool ports are in different location compared to my older intex pool.
    Intex 18ft dia. Ultraframe, 6500 gal. above ground Intex pool with Hayward C550 cartridge type filter and Intex Krystal Clear Ozone and saltwater system model ZS8110, Taylor K-2006 test Kit, Pool filter supplemented with Duda Diesel 1 micron filter bag
    Located in Cypress, Tx.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Yes it is just a slip on cap to keep **** out, Or kids putting things in there
    Intex 16X48, Intex sand filter, Game 3/4 HP pump. Springfield Mo

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mid-Mi
    Posts
    21

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    GTTY,

    TY for the pics!

    What is the pipe that goes over the wall on the return?

    Do you have the new(er) Intex with 2 inlets for the pump?

    Blaib,

    TY for the reply and the pics!
    Intex Ultra Frame 20' x 52"
    Hayward Pro 1hp Power-Flo LX/ 18" Sand Filter
    12-4'x8'x1" Polystyrene Sheets

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cypress, Tx.
    Posts
    154

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Yes, this is the new ultraframe with two supply intakes. I really like having two because I can balance water intake below the surface vs the skimmer basket.

    On my return, it is a pvc pipe assembly that goes over the wall into the pool and has a 1 micron filter bag that I use to filter my water while I vacuum. My hayward filter doesnt catch the ultrafine sediment and just pumps it back into the pool. The filter bag does a superb job of getting my water crystal clear. When I go to use it, I take the top stub off and the filter bage pipe assembly has another union that I screw into. You could just do the same thing on the intake piping and screw a hose barb into a scrd coupling for your vacuum hose.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Oh, and the small pipe that goes over the wall is just a water feature for the kiddos. the pipe goes over the wall and tee's with holes drilled into the pvc pipe. Sorry, I misread the post at first.
    Intex 18ft dia. Ultraframe, 6500 gal. above ground Intex pool with Hayward C550 cartridge type filter and Intex Krystal Clear Ozone and saltwater system model ZS8110, Taylor K-2006 test Kit, Pool filter supplemented with Duda Diesel 1 micron filter bag
    Located in Cypress, Tx.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mid-Mi
    Posts
    21

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    GTTY,

    TY!

    As you mentioned, I am considering going over the wall with the intake (split w/ the stock fitting) for the vacuum, possibly having the barb inside the pool for a below the water surface intake controlled by the ball valve.

    Interesting how you have the filter bag set up. Good idea!

    I wondered if it was a water feature for the monsters! Lol As I mentioned, probably will add a fountain myself.

    Now to get the project by the pool done so I can do the plumbing!
    Intex Ultra Frame 20' x 52"
    Hayward Pro 1hp Power-Flo LX/ 18" Sand Filter
    12-4'x8'x1" Polystyrene Sheets

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Blacklisted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    El Cajon CA
    Posts
    125

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by blaib View Post
    IMG_0256[1].jpg

    I did it two years ago, sure makes vacuuming pool easier. Works great

    - - - Updated - - -

    IMG_0255[1].jpg
    On the setup with the pipe outside the pool does the vacuum hose just slip over or in the fitting and how do you get the air out of the hose or does it not matter that much if you suck some air? I will be hard plumbing my pool soon and am considering different options on how to do it. Right now I just use the Intex adapter for the over the wall skimmer but might be a good idea to do something like this also.
    Intex 15'x42" Metal Frame pool 4200 GAL with Intex SWG. TF-100 test kit. Our Pool Install Thread

    In Work! Master Spas Legend Series LSI 557 3-4 person Hot Tub, 230 GAL using bromine to sanitize it. Hot Tub Install Thread

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    I put the hose on the vacuum head and put it in the pool, then I take the other end and put it on the outlet port while pump is running to fill it with water. Then I just slip it over the vacuum port and yes I just went to lowes and purchased a rubber slip on adapter that fits on the end. Works really good. I will take another picture of this next time I vacuum pool.
    Intex 16X48, Intex sand filter, Game 3/4 HP pump. Springfield Mo

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Blacklisted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    El Cajon CA
    Posts
    125

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by blaib View Post
    I put the hose on the vacuum head and put it in the pool, then I take the other end and put it on the outlet port while pump is running to fill it with water. Then I just slip it over the vacuum port and yes I just went to lowes and purchased a rubber slip on adapter that fits on the end. Works really good. I will take another picture of this next time I vacuum pool.
    Yes, please take pics of all the parts or if you have a link that would work also. So when you lower the hose it doesn't loose that much water or do you just cover the end with your hand or something similar? Thanks.
    Intex 15'x42" Metal Frame pool 4200 GAL with Intex SWG. TF-100 test kit. Our Pool Install Thread

    In Work! Master Spas Legend Series LSI 557 3-4 person Hot Tub, 230 GAL using bromine to sanitize it. Hot Tub Install Thread

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Rocky Point, NC
    Posts
    14

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    I am following this, been thinking of doing it myself

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Killeen, Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Any updates? How do you prime your vacuum hose?

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Blacklisted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    El Cajon CA
    Posts
    125

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Any pics of the rubber slip on adapter yet?

    99taws6- To prime or fill the hose you hold it over the jet that returns water back into the pool and it will purge all the air out of it. Like said above hook up the vacuum and then do the purge. I like to hold the vacuum head just below the water line so it doesn't disturb the dirt when it pushes out the air and water.
    Intex 15'x42" Metal Frame pool 4200 GAL with Intex SWG. TF-100 test kit. Our Pool Install Thread

    In Work! Master Spas Legend Series LSI 557 3-4 person Hot Tub, 230 GAL using bromine to sanitize it. Hot Tub Install Thread

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Killeen, Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    So you hold the end of the hose over your return and open the vacuum valve then when the hose is full of water you close it and connect to your vacuum and reopen?

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    19

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Hi folks....don't mean to take this off topic. I hv an intex 18 x 52 round with the stock pump that is 1/2 hp and pumps 1600 gph. Is this pump sufficient to incorporate a vac system as posted in this thread?

    Intex 18 x 52 ultraframe
    1600 gph intex pump w 14" sand filter
    Hayward skimmer mod

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Killeen, Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Greg I think you'd be better off getting the "intex" vacuum adapter that screws on to the pool wall inlet and allows you to attach a vacuum. I may be wrong but I know I didn't have nearly enough pressure at that gph with my pool to use this style of vacuum. Someone else might chime in and disagree.

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Blacklisted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    El Cajon CA
    Posts
    125

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by 99taws6 View Post
    So you hold the end of the hose over your return and open the vacuum valve then when the hose is full of water you close it and connect to your vacuum and reopen?
    You wouldn't open the vacuum valve until you have the hose connected after it is primed with no air in it. I hope I'm making sense.
    Intex 15'x42" Metal Frame pool 4200 GAL with Intex SWG. TF-100 test kit. Our Pool Install Thread

    In Work! Master Spas Legend Series LSI 557 3-4 person Hot Tub, 230 GAL using bromine to sanitize it. Hot Tub Install Thread

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Killeen, Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: Add A Vacuum Port To Intex Pool?

    I still don't understand how you prime the hose if the valve is away from the pool and the hose is in the pool. It's probably simple but I'm just missing it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •