Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: My pool chemistry

1. Back To Top    #1

My pool chemistry

I just got in the k2006 kit and did the tests. Here were my results... Are these numbers ok? I am new to this I have a 22'x52" intex above ground pool with a SWG.

free chlorine 7
    combined chlorine 0.5
    ph 7.4
    alk 140
    calcium 30
    cy acid 40

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: My pool chemistry

Here is what our Recommended Levels chart states for your pool type (w/ SWG):
    FC 3-5 (See chart)
    pH 7.5-7.8
    TA 60-80
    CH 0-300 (Don't add)
    CYA 70-80

You can use the Pool Calculator in my signature to assist you in raising/lowering any of those as needed. It's a great tool to use.

- - - Updated - - -

Also Donna, when you get a moment, it would be a good idea for you to update your profile settings to add all of your pool info into your signature. That way you don't have to repeat details about your equipment later. If you have any questions about the chart above or what/how to add, please ask. TFP will assist. Congrats on your test kit and taking charge of your pool.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to the forum Donna

Your numbers are really pretty good. FC and TA are a touch high, but not too bad, and you can always work the TA down in time this season. You probably want to increase the Cya a fair amount, but overall your numbers are ok for that type of pool. No worries about CH with it being Vinyl, so that's good. Enjoy your soft water...

We have a couple of moderators here that are just up the Road from you in Longview.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links: