Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    10

    Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    Hi! I have an Aquapure 1400 which is showing a constant no flow indication. I've done some research and I've already tried cleaning the sensor (wasn't really dirty but it's sparkling now!), disconnected/re-connect the sensor at the board and haven't had much luck so far. I don't get any error codes at all. I replaced the sensor 1 or 2 years ago after I did get the sensor fail error codes (172 I believe?)

    See a couple things which I haven't seen answered in other posts so thought I'd ask before spending money on a new one.

    - There is a blinking green LED on the smaller board which the sensor connects to. It seems to just blinkk at steady rate. Does the blinking indicate anything?
    - I've also tried depressing the white "cal" button on the small circuit board and haven't noticed any change. Does that indicate the sensor is bad?

    I have a pentair whisper quiet pump which I don't think is adjustable for rpm to try and get more flow to resolve the problem but to be honest i haven't researched the pump as much yet. Seems like I have good flow though. Is this pump adjustable?

    Sorry for the long post! Hope someone can help. Thanks!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Oceansol's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    14

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    Galleta, I had this exact problem. There is a very small white button on the edge of that small board where the sensor connects. Push and hold it for 5 seconds, when the small green light should turn on solid green. If it does, then your flow should be back on. That is a calibration issue. Not sure why mine did this, but it worked. Jandy tech sup helped me with this.

    Edit: just saw that you did push the CAL button. Hold it for 5 seconds and hopefully light will stay on solid without blinking.
    18,000 gallon, in-ground plaster, salt water chlorine generation, all Jandy equipment, solar water heat, paper filters, in sunny southern California

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    10

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    Oceansol, pretty sure I already did that for 5 seconds but I'll definitely try again!
    15K gal gunite salt water, Aquapure 1400, pentair whisper quiet pump, gas heater. Wall w/ 3 fountains.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Oceansol's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    14

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    If it doesn't work, I'm outta ideas for you, sorry!

    Fingers crossed...
    18,000 gallon, in-ground plaster, salt water chlorine generation, all Jandy equipment, solar water heat, paper filters, in sunny southern California

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    10

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    Ok. Tried holding "cal" button again while display shows "wait" (before no flow shows). After about 3 sec green led on circuit board (not the flow led on display) blinks once and then after a while starts blinking again and i still get a no flow display.

    I took the pump apart to make sure it was clean (it is) and also cleaned out the filter (pentair paper) and i still have no flow.

    How can i check the flow? Buy and install an inline flow meter? Or would just doing a quick fill up a gallon bucket and record time?

    Just concerned I'm nit getting an error code for the sensor. Maybe the pump motor is bad?
    15K gal gunite salt water, Aquapure 1400, pentair whisper quiet pump, gas heater. Wall w/ 3 fountains.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    What is the normal clean pressure on your filter and what is it now?

    Do you feel a strong flow of water out of the returns?

    Have you taken the cell off and inspect it for blockage and calcium buildup?

    I'm thinking you need a new sensor if you pass all those questions. I never got more than 1.5 years out of a sensor.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Oceansol's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    14

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    I agree, likely bad sensor.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    10

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    I usually keep the filter pretty clean so pressure stays on the low side. It's currently just under 20psi and I don't remember it getting much above 25psi or so over the summer.

    Flow out of the returns feels normal to me..

    I have taken the whole cell off and the plates are very clean, no blockage there.

    Guess I'll order a new sensor... ridiculous that they have such a short lifetime.

    Quote Originally Posted by ping View Post
    What is the normal clean pressure on your filter and what is it now?

    Do you feel a strong flow of water out of the returns?

    Have you taken the cell off and inspect it for blockage and calcium buildup?

    I'm thinking you need a new sensor if you pass all those questions. I never got more than 1.5 years out of a sensor.
    15K gal gunite salt water, Aquapure 1400, pentair whisper quiet pump, gas heater. Wall w/ 3 fountains.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    10

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    Just to close this thread out... Received the new sensor today and it fixed the problem.

    Freaked out a bit at first as I thought I had received/ordered the wrong part. This one has a separate comtroller to pick a program based on your main board and doesn't use the small adapter board anymore.

    See how long this one lasts.
    15K gal gunite salt water, Aquapure 1400, pentair whisper quiet pump, gas heater. Wall w/ 3 fountains.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    262

    Re: Another Aquapure 1400 no flow issue looking for some details

    It seems like Jandy (Zodiac) has had a lot of problems with their flow sensors. There have been three re-designs over the last few years that I know of. Hopefully they got it right with the one you received. Best of luck.
    Free-form concrete walls with vinyl liner, 18,000 gallon capacity, Jandy 1.5HP e-Pump, Jandy DEV48 DE filter (using cellulose media), Jandy AE2500 heat pump, Jandy Aqualink Power Center with 14-blade cell kit and Jandy PDA-P8 wireless control system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •