Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: VS pump without electronic display?

1. Back To Top    #1

VS pump without electronic display?

I figure electronics with water is never a good thing and has a much more likely to fail than just a simple switch. Is there a good VS pump that uses switches to change the speed instead of electronics? If not then is it better to get a 2 speed? Am I being too cynical? I want something that will last a very long time and not have to replace electronics every 5 yrs. or so. Please make recommendations. I currently have a Hayward super pump 1.5HP (1 1/2" pipes) and the motor has ceased so I have to either replace the motor but want a more energy efficient one that has at least 2 speeds. If I can just replace the motor and it's not too difficult that is an option too. But please tell me the replacement model number I need. I'm new to pools. Thank you.
    26,700 gal (rectangular 18" x 36', CES 3'10" x 4'), IG, Vinyl, Hayward Super pump 1.5HP, sand filter-Hayward S244T, built roughly 5yrs ago I think, 1 1/2" pipe, TF-100, Well and city water available.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: VS pump without electronic display?

The 1.5 HP Hayward Superpump usually has an AO Smith UST1152 motor, I am not sure the 2 speed equivalent model.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by sxch12 View Post
    Is there a good VS pump that uses switches to change the speed instead of electronics?