Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    2

    Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered when not in use? Won't the cover make it sink? (The cover rests on the water). My bromine levels have been very high and I'm wondering if this is my issue.

    Would a different floater work better? (I noticed the Pentair 332 says it can be used under a cover, but the 335 doesn't say that)

    Thank you!!!!!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    If the bromine levels are high, then you must be using too much ... which is easy to do if it is always covered.

    I would think any floater could be used under a cover as it does not matter if it is more submerged ... but if the is stuck in one place, then the acidic nature could degrade the spa surface or cover locally.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    Spas use special kinds of floating dispensers that are closed at the top to prevent some of the outgassing. You do not want to use a floater that opens from the top. Also, you generally do not want to use Trichlor tabs since they dissolve too quickly in hot water and are very acidic so in a small volume of water the tub can get damaged more easily than in a pool.

    Bromine tabs are not highly acidic the way Trichlor tabs are so that should not be a problem. If the bromine level gets very high, then it's outgassing can oxidize the hot tub cover.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    Thanks for the correction, chem geek!
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    2

    Re: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    My floater opens and closes from the top - is that bad? (It is this one - Intex Floating Chemical Dispenser for PureSpa, 5-Inch)

    I'm not using Trichlor tabs, just bromine (and shocking with liquid chlorine). I'm a noob so I'm still figuring this all out!!

    I think I simply put too many Bromine tabs in. I just filled it up, but then I realized this type of floater isn't so great, and they all get wet at the same time. I've seen the Pentaire 335 recommended a lot on here, but wasn't sure if the 332 would be better since mine is always covered - any idea?

    And thanks for the quick replies!!!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    PoolESQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    191

    Re: Can I use a floater if I keep my spa covered?

    I think they are suggesting you get one like this: http://lghttp.14352.nexcesscdn.net/8...01-568x810.jpg
    Replastered 2015: Sunstone Quartz Midnight Blue 16x32 rectangular gunite with in-pool spa....18,000 gallons. Autopilot Total Control System with SWG and acid pump. Pentair Clean & Clear 420. Auto cover. TF-100.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •