Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: CYA Tube Pic...Black Dot

1. Back To Top    #1

CYA Tube Pic...Black Dot

I am a newbie to testing. I have tested 5 times now within 2 weeks. Can you help me determine when the "black dot" is gone for the CYA test? The tube on the left is 50 CYA. The tube on the right is 45 CYA. 50 CYA tube has a faint trace of black dot. Am I being too anal about this? Which CYA level do the experienced folks think I have in that tube?

2015-05-26 17.07.54.jpg2015-05-26 17.08.38.jpg
    Pool Owner since Sept. 2014, but 2012(ish) in-ground pool. 40'x'20x3'(shallow)-8'(deep). Around 28,000 gallons. Vinyl liner. SWG. Aqua Rite with Hayward T-15 cell. Hayward Super Pump (self priming). Hayward Sand Filter. AquaPro Pro1100e Heat Pump. 2 main drains. 2 skimmers. 2 jets. 1 light. 1 diving board. Dolphin M4. TF-100 Test Kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: CYA Tube Pic...Black Dot

It should be completely gone. I still see it a 50 ... maybe even 45.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

It's a little subjective, but there no difference in 45-50. If you think it leans to 50, choose 50, or vice versa. The margin of error is 10-15 PPM. You're being anal.

Good to be accurate, but this test is not laser precise.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick_B View Post