Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello from a complete newbie.

1. Back To Top    #1

Hello from a complete newbie.

Hi to everyone

So we have just rented a bungalow, which came with a 10 x 5 Overflow pool. We did not want a pool really, but now we have it I have to learn to maintain it. So we have got the pool clean now after a couple of backwashes and cleaned the sidewalls etc. But now we have done a test and we have this. It just not look right. Does any know how to sort this problem out. Many Thanks. B.

Attached Images Attached Images

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hello from a complete newbie.

Welcome to the forum Bill,

It appears that your Chlorine is through the roof high if the reagent is good, and your pH really may not be too bad at all presuming the same.

I understand you are renting, but if you are truly going to manage this properly (even though small) you need a good test kit. Chemical cost is going to be very, very small so that is one upside. We can help you do this if you wish and it will be quite easy, but you have to know what's going on in the pool. The only way to always know is through proper testing.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP! You sure have found the place to keep your pool clear! We can help keep it clear using products you buy at Walmart!

BUT the first thing you need to buy is a GOOD test kit. Look below in my siggy for the link to the test we use and love.

We use bleach/chlorine to keep our pools clear!

Those colors do look way off. Do you have any idea what they used in the pool before you go there? The orange on the yellow cap has me puzzled.

I will check back on this later this morning to see if we can figure out how to keep the pool clear until your test kit gets there.

Kim