Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Total noob here...Free Chlorine went from high to zero over night

1. Back To Top    #1

Total noob here...Free Chlorine went from high to zero over night

I'm new to the pool world...but learning. I haven't spent as much time on here as I wanted but it's been a busy spring.

So I've used some bleach because my free chlorine was zero. Added some and bleach and the next day no real change. I then added quite a bit more since I had no movement. My pool runs 8 hours on pump cycle and is about 16,000 gallons...test the next day and I was worried because it was now off the charts. I added too much???

The next day I tested again...now I've got nothing again. Maybe a bad stick? Retest...same deal...nothing.

Now I know I'm cheating with the sticks...but I was looking for a cheap way to try my own pool care before diving into a kit. Plus I have two little boys who A. Love the sticks. B. Would be screwing with the kit endlessly.

Any thoughts? This is a salt water pool and I'm in the green on salt.

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Total noob here...Free Chlorine went from high to zero over night

Welcome to TFP!

First you should never blindly add bleach.
    Second you really need a test kit. Strips are not accurate. I say get a kit, then let the boy have the strips so they can "test" the water.

What does your water look like?
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Quote Originally Posted by xr4ticlone View Post
    Now I know I'm cheating with the sticks...but I was looking for a cheap way to try my own pool care before diving into a kit
    First, welcome to TFP!