Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Broken Fixture

1. Back To Top    #1

Broken Fixture

Hello,
    I went to open my above ground pool and the fixture that attaches the hose to the filter is snapped. My ex closed the pool last year for me and I don't remember him mentioning this to me but he might have!

The part that snapped is attached to the housing for my filter and I'm not sure how to get it off?

11164841_10152746264251567_4424022403823660365_n.jpg11295701_10152746266026567_174262195377244851_n.jpg
    Kris Ann, Massachusetts

30' x 15'; AG; Cartridge; HP 2.0; Installed 2012

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Broken Fixture

I am no expert in plumbing but it looks to me like the part with the handle has a union that can be unscrewed.

The part that is still in the tank---------There is some sticking out on the top. What about on the bottom?

I will show this to my husband and get his input.

Hugs! We will find a way to get your pool going.

Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Yes there is nothing on the bottom. Not sure how I could grab onto it to twist it out. Maybe smash it?
    Kris Ann, Massachusetts

4. Back To Top    #4

NO Smashing allowed!

I am thinking-----------do you have a rubber mallet (hammer with a big piece of rubber instead of metal)? Tap GENTLY counter clockwise (lefty loosey). See if you can get it to move that way.

I am hoping there are threads inside with teflon tape on them to stop it from leaking. If so it should twist out.

That is plan A. I am thinking on plan B.

Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

5. Back To Top    #5