Another pump/filter/ swg question...remodel edition.

JonathanD

In The Industry
May 20, 2015
Cape Coral, FL
Sorry for another repetitive post, but I am still a little unclear on what is worth it or not.

I am about to renovate my pool/deck and now I am looking at my pump/ filter/ motor set up, which look antique. Also seems to be a good idea to do it before the new pool surface so there is very little, if any, down time or learning curve while it is curing.

15,000 ish gallon pool, fully screened in, SW Florida, single suction, and no water accessories. Would like to be able to add a simple automatic vacuum in the future.

1. VS or 2 speed motor/pump? Assuming 1hp is more than enough. Will they work on the wiring from 15-20 years old or so?

2. I am leaning toward another cartridge filter.

3. To those who have gone the SWG route, do you ever regret it, and would you ever go back? I am new to the TFP advice, but it seems that you should go SWG if you cant add chlorine ever or every other day. Sometimes my schedule ends up with 2-3 days linked together so closely I wont have time to add chlorine. On the other hand...SWG is a pretty hefty upfront expense. Does is also mean I have to buy an additional computer to keep the pump and swg in sync?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

PS: I am looking to tackle this myself, I was a mechanic for about 5 years, my father also owned a pool company back in the early 80's...though just a little has changed since then. I am confident we are handy enough.

1) A two speed will cost a little less over it's lifetime in most cases, though a VS is going to be fairly close with the long pool season in Florida. A large VS is unlikely to work with old wiring, but some of the smaller VS pumps will be fine, as will any 2 speed you are likely to consider.
2) Filter type is a personal preference