Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Digital Nano SWG, failing cell 1.5 years old?

1. Back To Top    #1

Digital Nano SWG, failing cell 1.5 years old?

14,000 Galloon pool, 1.5 year old PoolPilot Digital Nano SWG seems to not be producing Cl. CYA at 70, FC and TAC both 0. Been doing Liquid Cl for a few weeks getting the rest of the chem to optimal ranges before I chalk it to a dead cell. Volts at 3, amps at 5.2. Salt level 3200. All seems great- minus no Cl generation. Visual inspection is fine, no caking, cell looks good. I'm no expert on any of it but like to be hands on: tested all myself with home kit and then brought to store for verification I'm not a total doofus hah. Any ideas?- I've tried to get power level up; at 100%, but 'Installer Menu' doesn't have any options to increase power level- just a DEMO MODE, and the rest is the same as owner options menu..? Any ideas?- SLAM it?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Digital Nano SWG, failing cell 1.5 years old?

Welcome to TFP!

Could you double check your volts and amps reading. The numbers you posted should be impossible. The volts/amps reading is the best way to see if the cell is nearing the end of it's lifetime.

It is also worth doing a visual inspection of the cell. If you see any white chalky stuff on the cell plates, the cell needs to be cleaned.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Cell is perfectly clean. No caking.
    Just turned pool on, 85 degrees, 2V 5.0A. Waited a few minutes: Cell: 1V 5.0A. Amp Hours 11510.
    Does this point to anything? Summer usually brings pretty serious algae, and considering my house backs up to a Nature Preserve and a lake, I've usually had summertime algae blues (except last summer-- first SWG summer and it did great!)