Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: My first test results with K-2006 & K-1766 Salt

1. Back To Top    #1

My first test results with K-2006 & K-1766 Salt

So I got tired of going to a pool store just to keep getting different numbers and being told what to buy. I returned the LaMotte 2056 ColorQ Pro 7 that I bought because it had inaccurate results each time I ran a second test. I went with the Taylor K-2006 test kit from amazon since I wanted it right away and I also got the K-1766 for testing salt water. I placed an order for the Taylor speedstir but delivery is 2 weeks or so.

This is my first time as I'm still learning and can't wait for the speedstir as it will help greatly and will most likely give me accurate readings since I have shaky hands.

FC: 1.4
    TCL: 0 (didn't turn pink for combine chlorine)
    PH: 8.0
    TA: 160
    CH: 250
    CYA: 30
    Salt: 4,000 (ran test 2 times, is this high)
    Pool Temp: 74

I'm trying to play/learn the pool calculator.

PH telling me to use muriatic acid (i have ph down).
    3.9 oz dichlor
    63 oz stabilizer

looking for advice, please keep in mind that this is all new to me and i'm still reading and learning. Thank You.
    --------
    Intex 22' x 52" Ultra Frame - approx 10,000 gallons of water
    Intex Sand Filter pump (8hrs Run Time)
    Krystal Clear Saltwater Model 7110/8110 (6hr run time/day)
    K-2006 TEST KIT

2. Back To Top    #2

My first test results with K-2006 & K-1766 Salt

FC needs to be bumped up a little. Just use a little liquid chlorine to do that, then let your SWG maintain it. Ph down works, but muriatic acid is cheaper and easier. Make sure the poolmath parameters are set up with your chlorination method being swg. You do need more CYA since you are using a SWG. I would just use the pure CYA, not the dichlor. Your TCL reading should be CC. TCL is FC + CC. No need to list it. Just FC and CC. The salt isn't ridiculously high. Most swg's recommend 3000-4000.