Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pump Recommendations for Draining Pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Pump Recommendations for Draining Pool

Since my CYA is around 240, I need to drain and refill the pool. Some people have recommended doing multiple 20% drain and refills to prevent popup or structural damage to the pool. I also have been told to avoid drying out the plaster. A 20% drain will also allow me to use the pool water to irrigate my lawn and yard each time instead of the sprinklers, without completely flooding it.

I can rent a submersible pump for $40 a day at Home Depot, but since I will need to do six 20% drains, that would be $240. I might as well buy a pump. I am new to this, so am not sure what specifications and models I should look for. Any recommendations for a decent quality pump would be appreciated. I want to avoid the problem another member had when the pump leaked oil into his pool.

Michael

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pump Recommendations for Draining Pool

You can buy a cheap submersible pump from harbor freight for around $60, but if you want to get much flow out of it to run sprinklers you may need a bigger one. Alternatively just add a hose bib tap downstream from your pool pump and use it to water the yard and refill as you go draining down just a little each time.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

3. Back To Top    #3

http://www.amazon.com/Superior-Pump-...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt
    You could get something like that one. I have the 1/5hp one. It pumps 5gpm by the time it pushes through the hose.