Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 78

Thread: SLAM without a main drain?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    SLAM without a main drain?

    Good morning!

    I am on day 7 of our SLAM. We are making some progress, but it is very slow. I have a few questions:

    1. The main drain on our pool is not hooked up (very old pool, short sale house), so we are only drawing from the skimmer. Is it even possible to complete a SLAM this way? I feel like we are just re-circulating the clear water, not the green.

    2. I want to double check my math:
    24k pool, Plaster, IG
    CYA=40
    Shock level = 16
    Is that right? I feel like I am very low compared to other threads I am reading.

    3. We have an automatic cover. We spent HOURS last weekend cleaning it 2 inches at a time to get rid of algae. We have not put it back on during the SLAM, but I am thinking if we put it on, it may help the process move a little faster. Any opinions?

    4. We have a variable speed pump. Any recommendations on which setting to use? Right now I have it at the 3400, but I can only imagine what that is doing to my electric bill. Does it matter which speed I run?

    Thanks a bunch. I have tried really hard to look before asking any questions, but I am still a little clueless.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide

    Azgirl71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Sierra Vista, Az
    Posts
    2,586

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    My pool does not have a main drain and I SLAMmed it. So yes you can. Have you been brushing and vacuuming?
    I would let the pool breath and keep the cover off if it were me.

    - - - Updated - - -

    SLAM level is correct, but you could safely bump it to 18 to make sure you stay above SLAM level.

    Can you post a full set of numbers? Don't test PH though if FC is above 10 as it won't be accurate.
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Thanks AZGirl!

    Yes, we have been brushing quite a bit and scooping blind where we can. I don't have a vacuum. Would you recommend getting one? We just bought a robot, but the directions say not to use it while the FC is high.

    We tested PH before we started - 7.5.

    I don't have the other numbers though. Will those effect the SLAM process?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, why "let it breathe"? I would think keeping the cover on would kill the algae faster because it is not exposed to sunlight 12+ hours. Clearly, I am a newbie, but I do like to understand

    THanks!
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  4. Back To Top    #4

    TFP Guide

    Azgirl71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Sierra Vista, Az
    Posts
    2,586

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    It should be fine. Just keep your FC up until you pass the SLAM. I robot is fine. I had my cleaner in the pool with high FC
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    1. It is mandatory that you manually vac the pool or get your robot working. The SLAM will not work unless you start cleaning your pool floor.

    2. What is your current FC?

    3. What does your water look like?

    4. When did you last backwash?

    5. 3400 is way too high for the sand filter. Slow that VS pump down to around 1800 or 2000

    6. You will likely never pass the SLAM criteria with the cover on. The pool needs UV light to help in the process of eliminating combined chloramines.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    92

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    I ran my Dolphin with spring clean up filters to get the stuff I couldn't see and am running it now with the "ultra fine" filters to help get the water crystal clear.

    IMO, run the robot a cycle. It will kick up all kinds of sediment. Let that settle then the next day vacuum the bottom to waste. A vacuum and hose is $50ish at just about any pool store. We have found Pinch a Penny and they have good prices on basics. I have already got my moneys worth out of my robot, run it. BTW, what did you get?
    26000 gallon Kidney shaped gunite pool. Older pool with deep dive well, nice diving board and tall slide. 31" Hayward pro sand filter with Pentair 1.5hp pump. Testing with the TF-100 plus test kit. Using a Dolphin Nautilus pool cleaner robot, next to bleach, my pools best friend.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    THanks for the response.

    1. I didn't realize I could run the robot while SLAMMING. Will put it in now.
    2. Current FC is 18.
    3. Water is greenish grey
    4. Backwashed yesterday. THe PSI doesn't really creep.
    5. Will turn down the pump - had no idea.
    6. Ahhh! Will do!

    Thanks so much!

    If I can figure out how to post pics, I will do so.

    Not sure on the robot brand - Dolphin, maybe?
    4.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Grey color is dead algae, good news. Don't backwash your filter until pressure rises 20-25% above clean pressure. Are you brushing regularly?
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Brushing 2x per day. Today, 3x because I am home.

    Robot is up and running. Lets hope that will speed things up.

    I was really more worried about filtering with just a skimmer….I guess it will just take a while this way. I am glad that I posted!

    Thanks!

    PS - taking some new pics now, will post soon.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?


    This was 3 days ago.
    This is today. No much difference. Hopefully getting the robot in will make a difference.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Ew. Sorry about the crazy pics.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  11. Back To Top    #11

    TFP Guide

    Azgirl71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Sierra Vista, Az
    Posts
    2,586

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    I can clearly see a difference. Keep doing what you are doing. Your doing great!
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Thanks! I will keep posting pictures, It helps my sanity.

    We put the robot in around 4pm CST and took it out around 6 CST. The muck in the filters was unbelievable!!! We hosed them off and put that sucker back in. I think I know why I wasn't making much progress!

    Hopefully with the robot running, I will start to see some clearing.

    So glad for this website. Thanks again, everyone.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  13. Back To Top    #13

    TFP Guide

    Azgirl71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Sierra Vista, Az
    Posts
    2,586

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Glad the robot is doing its job. After a couple days it will be even better without having the gunk in the bottom.
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

  14. Back To Top    #14

    TFP Guide

    chiefwej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    2,853

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    It just take some chlorine, brushing, a bit of vacuuming, and a lot of POP (pool owner patience). You'll get there.
    chiefwej
    Tucson, AZ
    16x36 rectangular (19k) Pebble Tec play pool/spa, Pentair Intelliflo VS 011018, Super II 2hp (spa), Aqua Rite T-15 SWG, Pro Grid 60 DE, Hayward H400 & Heliocol Solar heating, A&A infloor system, fill water w/high CH and TA, 50 ppm borates,TF-100 test kit

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Thanks! I will post some updates tomorrow.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    92

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Not sure which robot you are running, but after it stops bringing up lots of muck run that sucker with some fine filters. My Dolphin has a set of "Ultra fine" filters, the best I can find on the internet is they filter to 2 microns, I was running it 3-4 cycles a day.
    26000 gallon Kidney shaped gunite pool. Older pool with deep dive well, nice diving board and tall slide. 31" Hayward pro sand filter with Pentair 1.5hp pump. Testing with the TF-100 plus test kit. Using a Dolphin Nautilus pool cleaner robot, next to bleach, my pools best friend.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Thanks. I just changed out the filters on the robot. Seeing some progress for sure, but very slow going. Filtering 24k worth of dead-algae-water with only a skimmer is going to take a while.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?


    This was today.

    Not sure if I see a difference….

    - - - Updated - - -

    Clearly that didn't work.

    Lets try again….Attachment 3693620150525_111908.jpg
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad kimkats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    26,737

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    But see with you running the robot you are clearing the bottom that way. If you really want to use a bottom "drain" you can get a manual vacuum and turn it over so the head it upside down on the bottom of your pool. That way the water on the bottom of the pool is what is being filtered. I am not sure if this will help or not but..........it is an idea.

    I CAN see a difference in the first two pics. You are doing a good job. Keep working on getting the junk off of the bottom.

    Kim

    - - - Updated - - -

    Keep taking your pics just over your steps. That is where we will be able to really see the difference.
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: SLAM without a main drain?

    Good point about the robot, Kimkats. I wasn't thinking of it that way.

    This pool is old & was very neglected when we bought the house. The 1st season (2 years ago), I had a pool guy come out and tell me I could never circulate properly without hooking up the main drain. But to do that, we would have had to break up the concrete and re-plumb. I just wasn't willing to do that.

    Last year was fine, but we did have to drain and refill at opening. THis is my 1st year trying to turn the water myself. It is just too expensive to refill (have to have it trucked in).

    Will keep posing pics of the stairs.

    Thanks again!
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •