I think it's narrowed down to skimmer line/valve - what to try now?

ajbeets

LifeTime Supporter
May 18, 2015
Philadelphia, PA
Hi all. I'm a rookie heading into my 2nd full season with the pool -- first off, thanks for this forum. I've learned so much from reading here and just became a supporter b/c you guys rock. Now for the problem - my 6 year old's birthday and our summer kickoff pool party is in 2 weeks but I can't get my filter to have any pressure and all the pool service folks are booked. I've been learning & messing around with stuff in dribs & drabs for a week. I really want to try & fix it myself this weekend so I've got time to have great water before the party.

I have 2 suction lines that go to the pump -- one comes from the skimmer/main drain (they are plumbed together -- the main drain flows up to the skimmer (blockable w/ plug) and that combined water heads to the pump) and one from a small spa. There are 2 return lines - one back to 2 jets in the spa & one back to the pool (2 more jets I think). Normally the suction from the bottom drain in the spa is off, all the water is pulled from the skimmer and then it returns to both spa and pool. It creates an overflow in the spa (heated when that's on) which flows into the pool. When valves are like that now, there's lots of air under the pump lid and filter pressure is about 1-2psi -- it can barely get going. I can feel some suction in the skimmer itself but not much. When I turn the spa suction on, pressure goes up to 10-12 (normal) and things seem great (except the spa gets mostly emptied). To me that narrows it down to the skimmer line. Here's what I've tried/noticed

1. I have plenty of water in the pool - more than 1/2 way up the skimmer.

2. I replaced the oring on the pump pot lid -- but the fact that there's no air when the spa suction is open seems to eliminate that anyway.