Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CYA....

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Boardman oh
    Posts
    18

    CYA....

    Hello,

    This is our first pool. Inground, 27,300 gallons, Hayward 245 sand filter. It came with the house we just bought. Why does it take so long for the CYA level to show on the test? I used the sock method, it's been 4 days and it's still not showing anything. We started at 0 and added 1.5 lbs per the bottle to raise the level to 30 ppm. Can I assume it's at 30 even though it's not showing yet and start slamming?? Our pH is at 7.4
    OHpool

    27,300 gallon IG vinyl liner
    Hayward GM 245 sand filter
    Taylor complete FAS-DPD K-2006 test kit

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: CYA....

    Yes you can if you are pretty certain your pool volume is correct. If you think that's pretty close, the go ahead and proceed.

    Welcome to TFP by the way!
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Boardman oh
    Posts
    18

    Re: CYA....

    Thank you!!!
    OHpool

    27,300 gallon IG vinyl liner
    Hayward GM 245 sand filter
    Taylor complete FAS-DPD K-2006 test kit

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: CYA....

    Ok, I could just be confused, but it appears to me that you'd need to add about 7 lbs of CYA to raise your CYA from 0 to 30 in a 27K pool.

    If not, someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    ComputerGuyInNOLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mandeville, Louisiana
    Posts
    602

    Re: CYA....

    It can take up to seven or eight days to show up. I think it is because since it is granular it needs to very thoroughly mix with your water to give an accurate reading.
    Gunite/Plaster pool at 13k gallons. All Jandy with CL340 series cartridge filter, 1.5 HP Jandy Stealth pump. Jandy 1400 SWCG and PDA4 controller. Dual waterfalls. Polaris 280. Pool installed August 2012. Southern Louisiana. And lets not forget my trusty TF100 test kit!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    12

    Re: CYA....

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    Ok, I could just be confused, but it appears to me that you'd need to add about 7 lbs of CYA to raise your CYA from 0 to 30 in a 27K pool.

    If not, someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    I hope you're not wrong. Mine's about the same size and I had figured just like you...about 7 lb. Only put 5 in at first, though, cuz I've been reading the forums and got crazy paranoid about adding too much!

    So, that's good news for the OP. You didn't add too much!
    AG 28700 gal (21x41 oval 4-6 feet deep)
    Pentair Warrior 88 DE filter/Hayward 1.5hp 2-speed pump
    Testing w TF-100

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: CYA....

    Nothing wrong with taking it up in stages.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  8. Back To Top    #8
    SCon36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, KY
    Posts
    118

    Re: CYA....

    Quote Originally Posted by pooldv View Post
    Nothing wrong with taking it up in stages.
    With all of the high CYA posts on this forum, using caution when adding CYA is a good thing.
    SCon36

    24,000 Gallon IG vinyl pool (16x36x8) with Hayward S200 sand filter and Hayward pump and heat pump. Built August 2011. I use a Taylor K-2005 test kit with a K-1515 add on.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIgL...0MyAw&index=29

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: CYA....

    The OP said "We started at 0 and added 1.5 lbs per the bottle to raise the level to 30 ppm. Can I assume it's at 30 even though it's not showing yet".

    I assumed that to mean he thought that 1.5 lbs of CYA would get him from 0 to 30ppm, not that he was taking it up in stages.

    I agree 100% that moving up in stages, and not overshooting, is the best way to add CYA.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •