Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New IG pool owner in Maryland

1. Back To Top    #1

New IG pool owner in Maryland

HAPPY DAY ALL!

I am new to TFP and have already learned a lot in the few threads I peeked in on. This site has gotten me very excited. I have never owned a pool before Nov 2014 but I do now! I have been using a PB (pool boy...i think). The previous owners of the house were nice enough to winterize it for me, but when we opened the pool last month they did things terribly wrong. Much to the PB's surprise the pool was in pretty good shape. We opened it on April 24th. Since then I have (well the PB) replaced 2 of the cartridges in the DE filter, replaced the O ring and the top of the filter (the piece that holds the cartridges in place), and changed some of the pipes from the skimmer pump. The PB comes every other week, so I can save $$$ and learn how to maintain the pool with some help.

I attached some pics of my new baby. she is 24gal, concrete (maybe plaster), DE Filter, and a polaris booster pump (there are two pumps, one for the pool and one for the skimmer)

We have gone swimming in it a few times, however the water temperature did not let us stay in there as long as we wanted. I am at the bottom of a huge learning curve and I am grateful for these types of forums to help a novice like myself out. I am still working on my signature, pool lingo is still a foreign language...lol.

Can't wait to chat more
    T.LaRue
    Attached Images Attached Images
    24KIG; Plaster; DE filter; still learning. 1st time owning a pool. my first summer

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New IG pool owner in Maryland

Welcome, Beautiful pool!
    Lomart 18x48 AGP 7000Gal
    Hayward S210T w/Hayward 1hp Power-Flo Matrix Pump 2-Speed
    TF-100 w/Speedstir!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you very much!
    24KIG; Plaster; DE filter; still learning. 1st time owning a pool. my first summer

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to the forum