Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: 'Almost' New Member and First Test Results

1. Back To Top    #1

'Almost' New Member and First Test Results

Found this site last year and was very helpful when had an algae bloom and got tired of the pool store kids selling me things that didn't work. Being a chemist I should have known better and after reading tons on here I definitely know better now. Opened the pool this Saturday and was nice and green. Couldn't find a K-2006 test kit anywhere local so ordered a TF-100 but while waiting for it to arrive went and bought reagents for an old Leslie's DPD kit the original owner had around so I could test the pH and FC while I waited for the TF-100 kit. The pH was 7.5 so I started mini-slamming while waiting. Water went from green to crystal clear in three days. Brushed and backwashed numerous times a day. TF-100 kit arrived today so waited until after dark and just finished my first tests. Results are below.

FC - 15
    CC - 0.5
    pH - 8 (assume is reading high due to SLAM FC levels)
    TA - 100
    CH - 225
    CYA - 25 (but was doing with only decent inside light but clearly is low)

So I know I need to get the CYA up between 70-80 for a SWG pool. Do I need to address the TA also now or wait until I pass an OCLT and let the FC and pH normalize? Unfortunately I have to travel tomorrow for business so won't really be able to do too much until Thursday. I'm hoping that I can squeeze in a quick FC test before I leave tomorrow morning (at 5am).

Thanks in advance for any advice and for such a great resource!

Joe
    14,000 gallons IG Carlton ecoFINISH, Hayward Swimpure Plus Salt Chlorinator T-Cell-15-SWP, Hayward DE Filter, Hayward Super Pump 1.5HP, Raypak RP 2100 Heater, Dolphin cleaning robot, TF-100 Test Kit with speed stir

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: 'Almost' New Member and First Test Results

Welcome!