Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Just opened do I need to power vac?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    LI, NY
    Posts
    13

    Just opened do I need to power vac?

    This is only the 2nd season I have a pool. Last year when we opened it the pool guy power vac'd. This year he wanted to charge us additional so we decided to do it ourselves. The water is now clear, we brushed away most of the alge from the walls and floor. Now it's just pooled on the floor. There is no other debris.

    I just purchased a Polaris P955 robo cleaner. Is it ok to use this since it's pretty much just alge and maybe some sand/dirt?
    New Pool Owner - Please help!!
    23k? gallon 16x32 Vinyl IG, Hayward Micro-Clear DE 4800 filter
    Hayward CL220 Chlorine Feeder, Polaris P955 cleaner
    TF-100 test kit, Full sun until 5pm

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    I have a low-tech vacuum head that uses a hose to the skimmer, so I don;t know. But I'll give this thread a so that maybe someone who knows can see it and answer.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Reading PA
    Posts
    63

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    I have the Polaris P935 from 2013 - Yes - You can drop it in and let it do its thing. I always hose mine down and pull out the collection basket and hose it off right away as well. It picks up ALOT - if it fits in the bottom of the vacuum, it makes it into the canister - even stones.

    I LOVE the ease of the robo cleaner. I drop it in vertically allowing it to fill before I let go of the handle and then it sinks to the bottom … and I forget about it until its done ...
    Thanks!!
    18ft x 36ft 24500 gal vinyl liner inground
    Salt water pool - swim pure plus
    Hayward cartridge filter

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    If you have live algae, no amount of vacuuming by anything will get rid of it.

    Chlorine kills algae and keeps it from returning.

    If you can post some test results, we can help you get your pool sparkling clear......with no algae.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    LI, NY
    Posts
    13

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    No live algae, pool guy dumped 3 gallons of liquid shock Friday night and then we put powder shock Sunday night.

    I need to go get a new test kit. The one we have is basic and I have no idea how to read it correctly. We flew by the seat of our pants last summer.

    Pool guy said we shouldn't use the vac to filter (he forgot I said I got a robot) and that we should power vac. I figured it was just so he could get paid.
    New Pool Owner - Please help!!
    23k? gallon 16x32 Vinyl IG, Hayward Micro-Clear DE 4800 filter
    Hayward CL220 Chlorine Feeder, Polaris P955 cleaner
    TF-100 test kit, Full sun until 5pm

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    Is it ok to use this since it's pretty much just alge and maybe some sand/dirt?
    we brushed away most of the alge from the walls and floor. Now it's just pooled on the floor.
    No live algae, pool guy dumped 3 gallons of liquid shock Friday night and then we put powder shock Sunday night.
    I'm a little confused by these sentences....Do you have visible algae in your pool?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    LI, NY
    Posts
    13

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh View Post
    I'm a little confused by these sentences....Do you have visible algae in your pool?
    It's all dead.

    Fcl 3
    TCl 5
    Alk 0
    PH - not even on the scale, it's yellow so I guess below 6.2
    TH 450
    New Pool Owner - Please help!!
    23k? gallon 16x32 Vinyl IG, Hayward Micro-Clear DE 4800 filter
    Hayward CL220 Chlorine Feeder, Polaris P955 cleaner
    TF-100 test kit, Full sun until 5pm

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    LI, NY
    Posts
    13

    Re: Just opened do I need to power vac?

    For the record incase anyone else has the same question I did - I used the robot no problem. We just have to empty it a few times. It stopped climbing the walls once the basket was too filled.
    New Pool Owner - Please help!!
    23k? gallon 16x32 Vinyl IG, Hayward Micro-Clear DE 4800 filter
    Hayward CL220 Chlorine Feeder, Polaris P955 cleaner
    TF-100 test kit, Full sun until 5pm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •