Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

1. Back To Top    #1

Bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

I have been here for two years so far (love this website!) The past two years I have used liquid chlorine, but I know bleach is also recommended for FC. I have never used bleach before and we are opening the pool tomorrow. I have no liquid chlorine at the moment and have to run out tonight in a pinch to get some but all pool stores are closed. I am thinking of trying the bleach this year instead of liquid chlorine. (For some reason I have been scared to pour straight bleach in but it is identical to liquid chlorine, is that right?) Anyway, what do I get? I'll be going to Wal-Mart. Just Chlorox bleach? Do I need to look for anything in particular? I'll be using the calculator to calculate when the time comes but I assume I'll need more bleach than I did when I used liquid chlorine. Just trying to figure out how many bottles I need.

Also, is it okay to intermix the two if need be? Say if I start chlorinating with bleach and then switch to liquid chlorine or vice versa, or even if I use both in the same day, is that ok?

Thanks so much guys!
    7+ years, inground, 25,000 gallon, vinyl, sand filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

Quote Originally Posted by suziequsie2945 View Post
    Also, is it okay to intermix the two if need be? Say if I start chlorinating with bleach and then switch to liquid chlorine or vice versa, or even if I use both in the same day, is that ok?

Thanks so much guys!
    The only difference is the % in the solution. Bleach is actually weaker than what you have been using. But in the end they are all chlorine in a liquid form. Some just have extra water in the solution.....