Just getting started and loering CH - Calcium Hardness levels

May 17, 2015
McKinney, Texas
Hello, I am new to TFPC. I like the idea of moving to liquid Chlorine and want to start the process, but I would like to get the CH under control 1st if needed. This has always been high even with the new plater. We run at 600 ppm right now and having a very hard time maintaining any FC (=0), but the pool is perfectly clear. I read in one thread about using Reverse Osmosis (RO) for removing Calcium. Does this work and should I consider it. I am ordering a good test kit and want to test the inut water as well sicne I drained about 30% while brushing this spring and refilled and it does not look like any difference. Any suggestions?

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

First, the CH has nothing to do with the inability to maintain FC, if that is what you were implying. You need to know your CYA level to know what FC level you need to maintain to prevent algae and what level is required to clear up whatever is consuming your FC according to the FC/CYA Chart.

Yes, RO can lower the CH (and CYA), but the service is only available in very limited areas.

What is the CH of you fill water?
Rain harvesting is a good way to bring your CH down as well.

Have you discovered Pool School yet? Start with these:
ABCs of Water Chemistry
Recommended Pool Chemicals
How to Chlorinate Your Pool

My CH is 825 last time I checked and my water is crystal clear and hold Fc pretty good. You can't blame CH for anything but scale formation and waterline stains.

Reverse Osmosis is the same process they use to make distilled water they sell in grocery stores and convert seawater into drinking water on ships. It strips out everything. It's also expensive and operators are scarce. And you're still stuck having to balance the water and feed the pool chlorine everyday even after it's done.