Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fixing a broken 2"45 degree fitting

1. Back To Top    #1

Fixing a broken 2"45 degree fitting

I have a cracked 2" 45 degree fitting that needs to be replaced. The problem is the pipe is in cement. I broke away enough cement to expose the fitting and cut it out. The problem I have is if I put a new 45 on the pipe will be shorter and not line up properly. I figured I would ask the pros for a tip or trick. I am thinking someone has to make a pipe extender that I should be able to glue to the outside of the 2" pipe that would narrow down to a 2" pipe I could put the 45 on.
    The pipe is cement in so I wont have much flex in lining up the joints. There is also a pipe behind the broken 45 that concerns me about digging any further with out damaging it.
    Broken fitting is on the bottom pipe which is the suction line.

Bottom picture is upside down.
    Last edited by JeffC; 05-17-2015 at 06:37 PM. Reason: added pictures
    20,000 gal pool, 3/4 Hp 220v Pump
    Pac Fab Challenger Pump House, Pentair Filter house with 200 sq ft filter cartridge
    Booster Pump
    Solar heating system that leaks and not currently used.
    Polaris vacuum thingy that runs off booster pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Fixing a broken 2"45 degree fitting

Hunt for something like this, maybe? http://www.spadepot.com/shop/Pipe-Ex...FZY0aQodrFcAuw
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Other questions of importance, any idea what that copper wire is? Some sort of ground?