Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Was Green - still a little cloudy

1. Back To Top    #1

Was Green - still a little cloudy

Let me start with saying I love this forum and the BBB system. I have been doing pretty well for several years AFTER giving up on the pool store and all their chemicals.

I went through about a week at shock level (around 14). The water was very green, and within the first few days it improved a lot. But it hasn't been improving the last 2-3 days and still a little cloudy. Scrubbed the sides, vacuumed a few times, and cleaned filter several times. I let the FC come down to get a good PH reading...Here are my numbers:

Vinyl above ground 7500 Gal pool with cartridge filter

5.5 FC
    O CC
    7.2 PH
    95/100 TA
    20 CH
    40/45 CYA

Should I go back up to shock level and wait longer for it to clear up or do something else? Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Was Green - still a little cloudy

You have not passed the clear water criteria to stop the SLAM process.

Is the pressure rising in your filter?

Please add your pool details in your signature.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

I agree but also wanted to get a good PH reading. Should I adjust PH before going back to SLAMing? I have an aerator hose that does it pretty quick. Borate is around 15 (based on test strip which is all I have for that measurement.