Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How bad does it look? Where do i start?

1. Back To Top    #1

How bad does it look? Where do i start?

Bought the house in September, and the pool wasn't opened at all last year. I am completely new to this and am looking to be pointed in the right direction to open the pool up right and not burn my money in the process. Thanks for any advice you can give me, it's around a 22k gallon pool with a sand filter setup. http://i.imgur.com/8GqpMYT.jpg

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How bad does it look? Where do i start?

Welcome to the forum Detroit!

You will need to complete what we call a SLAM process on the pool to kill the Algae. It requires raising the chlorine level up, and keeping it up until the pool is cleared. You can begin reading about that process by clicking the links in my signature. You need a proper kit, and a little knowledge which you can acquire here. Others will chime in with help as well. Enjoy your time on TFP.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you Patrick! Gonna order a tf-100 tonight and go through all of the links.

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome!

Great picture. We love swamp pictures.

Before anything else, you need to know where you're at chemistry-wise. Pool store testing doesn't cut it, nor do test strips. And most test kits sold by stores won;t read chlorine high enough. There's a lengthy writeup in Pool School, but you could always skip it and head straight for TFtestkits. get the XL option now, you'll need it for that swamp. Yes, it's a chunk o'change, but it will save you at least that much if it keeps you out of the pool store. And no, I don't get a kickback for endorsing it, either.

While you wait for test results, start dredging with a leaf rake.