Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Troubleshooting Filter Problem Low Return Pressure

1. Back To Top    #1

Troubleshooting Filter Problem Low Return Pressure

Sorry if im such a newbie here but.. I opened up my inground pool for the first time, just bought the house. Pool was BLACK. I believe it was neglected for at least a year. Got it to a milky blue/white right now, but there is a problem with my DE filter.. (I think its the filter). Upon a fresh start up with new DE the returns shoots out strong and the suction at the skimmers is ok, but within a hour the returns are barley pumping out and there is minimal suction at the skimmers. If i back wash and start up again, same thing happens with in a hour. Please let me know your opinions. Thank You. - Jim

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Troubleshooting Filter Problem Low Return Pressure

Hi Jennihj,
    welcome to TFP.

your DE filter is doing it's job. Its filtering out all of the gunk in the pool and in doing so, is starting to clog because there is so much of it.

You need to backwash or clean your filter VERY often in these types of situations where you have ugly water.
    Divin Dave,
    IG Vinyl, 15' x 30', 3 1/2' - 6' deep, Oval, ~15K gal, Intelliclor IC40, Intelliflo VS pump, Clean and Clear 420 Filter, auto-fill-disabled, Retrofit LED Color Light, Dolphin Nautilus Robot, TF100 Test Kit, Taylor K1766 Salt Test Kit, Tftestkit Pressure Gauge.
    www.tftestkits.net Experience- it's what's learned just after you needed it most !!

3. Back To Top    #3

I work 8-10 hours a day, so I can only keep the filter running when I'm home, which in result is leading to a dirty pool. I don't want to keep it running while I'm not home because this will strain the motor.

4. Back To Top    #4

Tough situation. You'll have to get to a point where it can run, and make the stretch until you get home. Perhaps this Holiday/long weekend will give you some time to work towards that.
    TFP Moderator