Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Prologic with Superflo VS?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    34

    Prologic with Superflo VS?

    Just came across this thread. I have a 20k IG and would like to upgrade to basic automation, SWG, and VS pump. I am leaning toward the ProLogic PS4 w/ T-25 SWG and Pentair SuperFlo VS Variable Speed Pool Pump. I also plan to add solar at the same time. I would like the pump automation integration, but believe an Echostar would be overkill for my application. It looks like I can use one of the relays to trigger a speed on the Pentair like a 2-speed pump. The Hayward superflow VS doesn't even have those inputs for basic remote control.
    21' x 28" Grecian Vinyl Pool with fiberglass steps (@17k gallons) with Pentair SuperfloVS, Hayward sand filter with Zeosand, and Hayward gas heater. Pentair EasyTouch 4PSC-IC40 (Pentair IC40 SWG), and Screen Logic interface. 2 skimmers with main drain on the intake side and two primary returns with two low flow bubbler returns at the stairs. Aquabot pool cleaner. TF-100 Test kit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Hayward Pro Logic PS-4 vs. Aqua Rite - new pool install

    The Pentair Superflo VS will not interface with the Hayward ProLogic very well ... ideally you need to stick with the same brands. I am not clear if you can trigger multiple speed on that pump or not with a basic relay ... you might know more than me
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    34

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    According to the manual, with a 0-30v signal you can trigger 4 different speeds. When the signal is removed it goes back to it's normal schedule. Based on that I am trying to figure out how I can program the pro logic to use one relay for solar heating and another for superchlirinate. I may need to call Hayward. There is one version of their Max flo VS that has similar functionality.

    I saw an old thread of someone planning on using a Rasberi Pi to figure out the Exhostar protocol and convert it to relays for use with the cheaper VS pumps.

    Why Hayward and Pentair haven't upgraded their automation to control the new pumps is understandable. I guess they don't think people with smaller pools will pay for automation. Maybe Next will come up with their own pool controller. Their Founder mentioned in an interview how much his pool controller frustrated him.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Hayward Pool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    415

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    Hayward makes Four variable speed pumps that will interface with the PS4. EcoStar with a 2HP impeller, the TriStar VS with a 1HP impeller (two models, one for hooking to a controller and one for stand alone). There is also a MaxFlo and Super pump VS available.
    Hayward Pool Tech
    80+ Years of Technologically Advanced Pool Product Manufacturing
    poolside@haywardnet.com

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    34

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    With the price of the pro logic plus aquaconnect, the new omnilogic may be the way to go since I can easily get ethernet to that area. May use Tristar VS without display. Will Call Hayward and confirm this will work.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Hayward Pool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    415

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    The EcoStar and TriStar VS ND will both work with the OmniLogic.
    Hayward Pool Tech
    80+ Years of Technologically Advanced Pool Product Manufacturing
    poolside@haywardnet.com

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    34

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    It appears the Pro Logic will only turn the Super Pump VS on/off like a standard timer. The manual for the new Max-Flow 2302VSPND states that it will integrate with the Pro Logic and other automation systems with the proper software. I can't find corresponding confirmation of this in the Pro Logic manual though.
    21' x 28" Grecian Vinyl Pool with fiberglass steps (@17k gallons) with Pentair SuperfloVS, Hayward sand filter with Zeosand, and Hayward gas heater. Pentair EasyTouch 4PSC-IC40 (Pentair IC40 SWG), and Screen Logic interface. 2 skimmers with main drain on the intake side and two primary returns with two low flow bubbler returns at the stairs. Aquabot pool cleaner. TF-100 Test kit.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Prologic with Superflo VS?

    The Max-Flow 2302VSPND is very new and does not appear to be shipping yet.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •