Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Will I need to Slam?

1. Back To Top    #1

Will I need to Slam?

Hey there , Im new to this method of pool maintenance but not this site. I started stalking last year when I got fed up having issues with the (FROG). I have decided to start this method starting with opening this year. My Question is will I have to slam? We pulled our cover off Sunday, crystal clear water, some sediment on the bottom. My TF100 test kit will be here tomorrow for best test #. I have the basic chlorine, ph, And alkalinity drop test along with test strips that have CYA, fc, TC, PH, and alkalinity. So far the strips have been the same as with the drop test . first test I did showed alkalinity 180 and Ph 7.8, so I used ph down that I had on hand and the only other thing I have used was bleach. Test results today are CYA <50 ( the test goes from 0 to 150 the color shows in between 0 and 50 closer to 50.) Ph 7.2, TA 120, FC 7 , TC 7 . So every time I test the FC and TC are always the same. Thanks in advance for all the help.

PS: I will post most accurate results tomorrow when I get my TF100
    Seaspray Evolution CLX 15x30 AG , 13,500gal vinyl liner/ Pentair Dynamo 1.5 horse power pump/ SandDollar filter
    Dolphin vac

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Will I need to Slam?

Welcome to TFP!!!

Based on what you wrote, it sure does not sound like there will be a need to SLAM ... assuming the CYA and FC numbers are close of course.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks, I just wasn't sure if slamming was to be done at opening if all the levels were in check.