Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie trying to open pool - sand filter gauge seems stuck

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie trying to open pool - sand filter gauge seems stuck

Hello. We put our pool in mid summer last year, so this is my first time attempting to open it. Everything seems to be going well, water is nice and clear. Filled it, got the pump and everything up and running, put some super shock in it and thought I was golden. I had a quick look at the pressure gauge on the sand filter, and regardless of whether or not the pump is on, the gauge is wrapped all the way around and is stuck on the stopper thing. Can I assume the gauge is bad? I'd call the guy who installed the pool, but he is impossible to get in touch with, so I've given up on him. Have a look at the pic;

IMG_1567.jpg

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie trying to open pool - sand filter gauge seems stuck

Welcome to TFP!!

Sorry you found us under these circumstances.... Yes, the gauge is bad.

You really want a quality glycerin-filled gauge that doesn't go a high as your old one. 6p PSI just doesn't give the detail you want most of the time. 30 is fine for pool use

Check here

Witht he pump off you should just be able to unscrew the old one and screw in the new one.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

3. Back To Top    #3

Awesome, thx for the quick response, I really appreciate it. Am I OK to run the pump while I track one of these down and get it installed?

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by cdooer View Post