Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: abandoned pool and mosquitos

1. Back To Top    #1

abandoned pool and mosquitos

So my neighbor more or less abandoned her house for several months and now her pool is a giant mosquito pond.
    Does anyone have any recommendations on what I might put in the pool to eliminate the mosquito's?
    We never had a mosquito issue prior to this event so it is most definitely associated with her pool gone bad.

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: abandoned pool and mosquitos

I am not a lawyer, so the legality of what I say is up to you to determine and I take no responsibility.

That said, if it is just being left to become a swamp then there are products that can be thrown in stagnant water to kill mosquito eggs and larvae. It may be worth contacting your city as well, some have mosquito control programs and will check it out for you.

From my HTC One via Tapatalk
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

I agree with Donaldson. I would contact the city or health dept. A mosquito breeding ground is not healthy.
    Lisa
    Intex AG vinyl 15' x 48" 4,300 gallons due to skimmer install, Krystal Clear SF pump combo 2800 GPH, Krystal Clear SWG, Pool Blaster Max vacuum, Hayward thru the wall skimmer, TF 100 test kit with speed stir, K 1766 Taylor salt test, My SLAM Process

4. Back To Top    #4

Agreed, you shouldn't do anything on their property. Contact the owners and authority in charge.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

5. Back To Top    #5

Contact the city/county authorities.

In the meantime, you could toss a few of these over the fence, into the pool: