Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: problems with Hayward filter

1. Back To Top    #1

problems with Hayward filter

I'm new to the pool world. The pool has been a swamp for 2-3 years. On April 23 I dropped 12 Lbs. of dichlor in the pool. Then noticed my polaris picking up sand so I changed the sand and a busted lateral(sand from home depot). I'm thinking this sand was a mistake as it is not removing anything from the pool running 24/7. Days go by with no PSI change. I have tried adding DE and I get a rise from the DE but nothing after that. Earlier today I vacuumed the floor blind and the pressure got up to 30 by the time I finished. I figured I would let it run like that for a little bit to try the dirty filter cleans more idea and when I went back to check it out about 20 minutes later the PSI had dropped to 24. All I can assume is that the dirt/Dead algae is passing through the sand and back into the pool. I know I'm probably forgetting stuff.

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I have been reading about putting pea gravel in the bottom of the filter and also debating on changing to a different sand. Any insight on these would be great also.

Ch 100
    tc 3
    fc 3
    ph 7.5
    ta 90
    cya 50

1st picture is after 12 Lbs of dichlor
    2nd picture is current

102.jpg149.jpg
    Thanks Ben
    20 x 40 IG vinyl 30k gallon
    Hayward S244T300Lb sand filter, 1.5hp Super Pump, polaris booster for 280
    Aquarite SWG
    T-100 test kit W/ Speedstir

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: problems with Hayward filter

Welcome to TFP!

If you are sure things are still getting through the SF, you still have a problem with a lateral or similar as before. Are you sure you replaced with the correct type and amount of sand?

Where are those test results from? If from your own kit, can you tell us what type of kit you have please?
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool