Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: I am having to start over.....

  1. Back To Top    #1

    I am having to start over.....

    Hi,

    We have a hole in our above ground liner. Soooo we have to start completely from scratch with the water. When we got our pool 5 years ago, the installers started the water chemistry as part of the deal. It wasn't long after that I had issues and started doing my own research. That is how I found this site. Since I did not begin with BBB, I had to adjust to it based on what the "pool store" did. I noticed toward the end of last season, I was having a great deal of issues with an algae that would not die. Now I get a fresh start. So from the very beginning, what do I need to do?

    Here is what I am thinking....please, please correct me if needed.

    1) fill the pool (we use city water)
    2) test
    3) adjust as needed.

    My main question is CYA, do I need to get this? Do I need to add it? How much? My volume is 7600 gallons, (18 foot round pool) & we are starting over with fresh sand in our filter this year. When I started BBB 5 years ago, they had already added this, so I have no idea how much they added.

    This is my big chance to get this thing perfect the first time.
    7600 gallon, 18 foot round above ground, sand filter (150 lbs)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Sorry for your troubles.

    I encourage you to check out Pool School and refresh with the ABCs first. This will be a good first step. Do you have one of the suggested kits with fresh reagents?
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Easy as the 1. 2. 3. you mention

    Circulate the pool for 30+ minutes and then test the FC, CC, pH, TA, and CH. What test kit are you using?
    The CYA will be 0, so you should add about 30ppm into a sock and put that in your skimmer. Use PoolMath to calculate how much that will be for your pool.

    There is rarely ever a need to replace the sand. A Deep Cleaning of your Sand Filter might be all you need.

    Please add your location (City, State or City, Country) to your profile as described HERE as it will help us help you.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Yes I have the deluxe kit.

    I did not see anything that related to starting from scratch.
    7600 gallon, 18 foot round above ground, sand filter (150 lbs)

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Can you be more specific about the test kit? That does not really help.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,482

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Yes, you need to put in CYA. The easiest way is to buy it on its own, instead of mixed with the chlorine. This way you know exactly how much you're putting in. Too much CYA is a real problem so you want to avoid it. Use the PoolMath calculator (found under poolschool link above) to determine how much to put in. Put the granules into a sock and tie it off then hang it in front of a pool return so that the water turbulence will help it dissolve faster. Give it a squeeze now and then too.

    How are you planning on adding chlorine to your pool- SWG or liquid bleach? That helps you determine how much (how high) to put your CYA.
    As soon as you put the CYA in, you want to also add some chlorine. Use the Chlorine/CYA chart (also found in Pool School) to determine your minimum chlorine level based on how much CYA you're going to run with. For a non-SWG pool the suggested CYA level is 30-50.

    That's your starting point. Using a suggested test kit, you'll be able to determine your pool chemistry and then use PoolMath to advise you on what other chems you *might* need
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Oh sorry - the TF-100.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by YippeeSkippy View Post
    Yes, you need to put in CYA. The easiest way is to buy it on its own, instead of mixed with the chlorine. This way you know exactly how much you're putting in. Too much CYA is a real problem so you want to avoid it. Use the PoolMath calculator (found under poolschool link above) to determine how much to put in. Put the granules into a sock and tie it off then hang it in front of a pool return so that the water turbulence will help it dissolve faster. Give it a squeeze now and then too.

    How are you planning on adding chlorine to your pool- SWG or liquid bleach? That helps you determine how much (how high) to put your CYA.
    As soon as you put the CYA in, you want to also add some chlorine. Use the Chlorine/CYA chart (also found in Pool School) to determine your minimum chlorine level based on how much CYA you're going to run with. For a non-SWG pool the suggested CYA level is 30-50.

    That's your starting point. Using a suggested test kit, you'll be able to determine your pool chemistry and then use PoolMath to advise you on what other chems you *might* need

    I like to use the shock at the beginning, liquid as needed, and the "hockey pucks" in the chlorine dispenser.
    7600 gallon, 18 foot round above ground, sand filter (150 lbs)

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,482

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    "I like to use the shock at the beginning, liquid as needed, and the "hockey pucks" in the chlorine dispenser"

    Well, possibly this is your problem you mentioned you had last year. Those "hockey pucks" contain CYA, so as your CYA level rises, your chlorine requirements rise also. If you're not keeping them in check you develop a problem.

    Liquid chlorine is the way to go if you can.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    I am SHOCKED!!! I had no idea the pucks contained CYA. UGH!!! Well I will be re-thinking that strategy. Thank you!!!!

    How is it that my CYA level didn't change much though?? I keep a log of my test data too....
    7600 gallon, 18 foot round above ground, sand filter (150 lbs)

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Sounds like some learning is in order.

    Have you discovered Pool School yet? Start with these:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool

    - - - Updated - - -

    PLEASE!!!! Fill out your location!!!
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,482

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Quote Originally Posted by redhed100 View Post
    I am SHOCKED!!! I had no idea the pucks contained CYA. UGH!!! Well I will be re-thinking that strategy. Thank you!!!!

    How is it that my CYA level didn't change much though?? I keep a log of my test data too....
    If you lost water through backwashing or splash out, and then replaced it with fresh water, your CYA could have been kept in check. Otherwise, I dunno??
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,998

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    To update your location click SETTINGS upper right, click EDIT PROFILE lower left, enter location and save it.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    419

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    You really have to put in the time reading about your pools upkeep on pool school. It is an on going learning process for all of us. You have a lot of money invested in your pool and you need to invest time in educating yourself.

    Your effort will show in your pools water and your wallet. Good luck
    19,000 gal - Vinyl IG - Sand filter -1.5hp. - Taylor k 2006 - Loop Loc cover

  14. Back To Top    #14
    mariane's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    289

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Quote Originally Posted by YippeeSkippy View Post
    "I like to use the shock at the beginning, liquid as needed, and the "hockey pucks" in the chlorine dispenser"

    Well, possibly this is your problem you mentioned you had last year. Those "hockey pucks" contain CYA, so as your CYA level rises, your chlorine requirements rise also. If you're not keeping them in check you develop a problem.

    Liquid chlorine is the way to go if you can.
    Or another thing to consider, if he already has pucks, can't he use them to get his chlorine and cya started, and then he could possibly use them up and then use liquid chlorine and never resort to pucks again? That has worked for me at the beginning of the season but then the pucks go into storage till next year startup or during the season when water replacement is needed due to splashout and backwashing. I also have to drain for the northern winter freeze.

    Redhed100 - where do you live?
    Do you have to drain for the winter?
    Inquiring minds NEED to know to - like the mods have said - it will help them help you better.

    Just a thought
    16 x 28 Doughboy Mystic Garden AGP with 7' deep end (used expandable vinyl liner) ~11,800 gals. Deep end main drain. Thru-the-wall skimmer, one return at deep end. Media Master 150# sand filter. Doughboy PowerPak II pump, 1 hp. Pentair MinimaxCH 150m natural gas heater. Polaris 65 when it feels like working . TF-100 test kit. No longer 'pool stored' 5 years and counting. In sunny but fickle metro-Detroit.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,482

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Quote Originally Posted by mariane View Post
    Or another thing to consider, if he already has pucks, can't he use them to get his chlorine and cya started, and then he could possibly use them up and then use liquid chlorine and never resort to pucks again? That has worked for me at the beginning of the season but then the pucks go into storage till next year startup or during the season when water replacement is needed due to splashout and backwashing. I also have to drain for the northern winter freeze.
    Yes, they can be used IF you actually need CYA and know how much they're each going to add to your existing CYA. Lots of folks plan ahead and keep their CYA on the low side just so they can use the pucks during vacations and know they won't overshoot their desired CYA level.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    I used the tutorial video that you posted in my thread, on how to clean a sand filter. BUT - we already had stuff together so we took it apart and just let the overflow water go out of the pool. When we pulled the top off the filter, the pvc pipe and baffles came up. Now we are not sure how to get the baffles back down and we are not sure how high that pvc pipe was sticking up in the first place. ARRRGGGHHHHHHH
    7600 gallon, 18 foot round above ground, sand filter (150 lbs)

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,998

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    To update your location click SETTINGS upper right, click EDIT PROFILE lower left, enter location and save it.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    Quote Originally Posted by redhed100 View Post
    ... so we took it apart and just let the overflow water go out of the pool. When we pulled the top off the filter, the pvc pipe and baffles came up.
    Do you mean you took the top off the filter and then turned on the pool pump? if so... OUCH!

    In any case, if the pipe and the laterals came up, you'll need to vacuum all of the sand out of the filter to be able to put the filter back together again. Use a good wet-dry shopvac, with a good filter to catch the silica dust. (Silica dust is very bad for your lungs. Shouldn't be a problem when the sand is wet, but wear a mask if the sand is dry.) You'll need a bin to dump the sand into, because your shopvac won't be large enough. (Wet sand is HEAVY, so have a buddy there to help.) Then you'll need to turn the pump on for a few more seconds to clear the sand out of the pipe leading to the filter.

    Once you get the filter back together properly (search the web for instructions; hopefully you won't have to replace the laterals), fill the filter with water to several inches above the laterals before starting to put the sand back in. If you forget the water, the falling sand can damage the laterals.
    25000-gallon semi-public IG concrete/plaster pool, Triton II sand filter
    750-gallon semi-public IG concrete/plaster spa, cartridge filter
    Volunteer pool caretaker for my condominium complex

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,998

    Re: I am having to start over.....

    This article will help, Deep Cleaning a Sand Filter
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •