Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pool Owner - Need suggestion!

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool Owner - Need suggestion!

I have an 18' round Sharkline Matrix pool coming this weekend. I was planning to install myself the following weekend and then hire someone to do the deck. I have recently mentioned my plans to my in-laws and work colleagues and they are scaring the heck out of me. Everyone of them has said to hire someone to install the pool and try to do the deck instead. Is the pool install that tricky??? I bought the Matrix because it is supposed to be easy to put together and I am using an Intex SWG. How many people would I need to install? I'm somewhat handy, but the reactions have me second guessing my decision. Any thoughts on hiring vs DIY?

I'm a newbie, so I'm sure I will have several more questions coming up...

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool Owner - Need suggestion!

Hi,
    the hard part is leveling the ground and ensuring that is stable enough to support a pool full of water.
    The Pool has to be LEVEL, so that means all of the legs have to be at the same height and supported securely.

there are lots of folks here who have done their own and there are several methodologies used to get the leg supports on the same level plane. They range from a long 2 x 4 with a level on top of it, to a water level to a laser level.

this video gives a fairly good representation of what prepping the site entails.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC-FgqVvrWo
    Divin Dave,
    IG Vinyl, 15' x 30', 3 1/2' - 6' deep, Oval, ~15K gal, Intelliclor IC40, Intelliflo VS pump, Clean and Clear 420 Filter, auto-fill-disabled, Retrofit LED Color Light, Dolphin Nautilus Robot, TF100 Test Kit, Taylor K1766 Salt Test Kit, Tftestkit Pressure Gauge.
    www.tftestkits.net Experience- it's what's learned just after you needed it most !!

3. Back To Top    #3