Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Connection to pentair sand filter

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Connection to pentair sand filter

    Hi all. I'm in the process of replumbing my equipment pad. Original setup was all 1.5". I've added some water features and figured it was a good time to ensure the best flow possible.

    So my pool builder installed a sd80 - with the 1.5" multiport valve (wish I'd know more at the time to request a 2").

    The MP has both inside and outside thread fittings for the in/out ports. Originally the inside 1.5" threads were used. If possible- I'd like to use the outside threads rather than reducing down to 1.5" before going in/out of the filter. For the life of me though- I cant find the right size adapters. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    What kind of impact on overall system flow efficiency will the 1.5" multiport and stand pipe have?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    The outside threads are likely for a union fitting ... it may also be a proprietary thread.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Thanks. That's what I'm thinking- some sort of propriatary fitting. The threads spacing and depth seems different than std PVC. I've checked the install manual and other online resources and can't find any reference. Seems strange.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Which filter and valve do you have?

    Please add your location (City, State or City, Country) to your profile and pool details to your signature as described HERE as it will help us help you.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Thanks. Seems the mobile version limits my ability to add signature info. Will add when I get to a desktop.

    I'm in Ohio and have a18-20k gallon inground. The filter is a pentair sand dollar sd80.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Success! I think I IDed the union kit: Pentair 150119

    One advantage is that using the unions allow you to open up the filter and inspecting/cleaning the sand yearly.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Yeah- I actually bought pnc unions so I could do just that. Would prefer unions on the filter itself. So my question is - where can I source these things (assuming they exist). Is there a preferred and well stocked place to contact?

    Thanks again for the help. I'll take a picture of my masterpiece when it's all done.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Google "Pentair 150119" and you will get countless places to buy them from.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Thanks! I just ordered the set. Not cheap - but nothing related to pools seems to be.

    btw- added my profile and signature. Hopefully it shows up now.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    No Signature ... did you check to box to allow it to show?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    72

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    This is really funny..... I was looking into doing this exact thing with my Pentair sand filter yesterday. I didn't want to ask the forum until I got home and had another look at it. It is bothering me that I have 2" everywhere and is sized down as it enters equipment. Seeing the threads, I hoped there was a chance of upsizing the piping (like a threaded ID pipe). Looks like 1.5" is here to stay. I would like additional unions. I could use the Pentair ones on body, or put some inline for 1/2 the price. Thanks for the question and answers!

    Pool: 40x15ft "Mt. Lake" shaped plaster IG (30k gallons with Borates)
    SWG: Circupool Si-45
    Pumps: Hayward MaxFlo VS (SP2302VSP) + Booster Pump for Polaris 180
    Filter: Pentair Tagelus TA-60D (Sand)
    Test Kit: TF-100 (with Speed Stir)

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    10

    Re: Connection to pentair sand filter

    Yeah - the cost is a little crazy. Unfortunately I'm a little obsessed with stuff like this. My guess is that 95% of the time my system is running at a speed/gpm that is well below the limits of 1.5" anyway so prob not a issue. As a part of this upgrade I bought a FlowVis flow meter. I'm looking forward actually measuring real flow rates with different filters and pump speeds.

    (lets see if my sig works this time) EDIT - it worked!
    20k In-ground Pool - 2 skimmers, dual main drains, 4 return jets, 4 hydro bench jets
    Pentair SD80 Sand Filter and Pentair RP 200 sq. ft. Cartridge Filter (swappable)
    Pentair 250k MasterTemp Heater
    IntelliChlor IC40
    Polaris 280 and Booster pump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •